Weekly Wrap-up

New Year, New Me?

img_2712With the start of 2017, there is so much information about resolutions and goals, improvements and changes. How many goals do you have? How will you achieve them? Did you write them down?

I’m a very goal oriented person, and I typically have operated this way, but last year, I didn’t meet all of my goals in running, and it’s disappointing. I know that it’s ok, and there will be plenty of times that will happen in the future, not just with running, but in life. But I was struck by the cover of Runner’s World: New Year, New You. I don’t know why that bugged me, the idea that three easy steps will get you to ____. Don’t get me wrong, I know there’s a ton of room for improvement, but there’s no list to complete or series of steps. It’s a lot of work and time that goes into that journey. Quite frankly, I don’t want a new me…maybe me, just a smidge different… version 1.9, would be ok. It’s all about better choices that will ultimately work toward helping me feel better, right?

With the forced time off from running, I’ve had a LOT of time to think about what I want to do differently in 2017. I’m still unsure of how I will implement all of them and still do things well–that will be a work in progress. There just isn’t enough time in the day, right?!!

An update about my stress fracture: I went back to the doc just after the New Year, and he told me I still need to stay in the boot for a month. Boo! I was pretty shocked to hear that and my jaw probably dropped. The good news is my foot feels a lot better, but I’m definitely not ready for running quite yet. I’m going to give some more time off from running before I jump back in the saddle.

These are some of things I will be working on:

Body:

  • Running (when I’m healthy): I already have some races on the slate, and since I haven’t been running, who knows how they will go, but I’m really looking forward to some new ones. I also have Chicago Marathon in the fall, and I really DON’T want to cancel that, so I’m going to focus on staying healthy for that race.
  • Do more yoga and strength training. Because I can’t do high impact right now, I’ve been getting back to yoga. I really enjoy going to the studio, but with my current work schedule and yoga class schedule, I think I’ll just have to settle for at home practice and being consistent. I’ve also been working a lot more on my upper body. 4d7e6dbe678a7bae253da3cdce431d94
  • Cycling: I really enjoyed cycling last year much more than I thought, so once I can work it back into my schedule I plan on doing that more. I’ve already gone on some bike rides with the kids. I biked 12.5 miles with my oldest to celebrate this 12th birthday. The other two kids bailed after 8 miles, but it was still a great accomplishment for everyone–the longest they’ve ever rode!img_3072img_3080
  • EATING: I’m really trying to be better with planning meals and eating healthier. I generally am a good eater, but when marathon training was in the thick of it and I was so tired, I would make quick rather than healthy choices. I’m also trying to stick to whole foods. Again, we’ll see when things get busy if I can, in fact, keep this up.
  • I also want to work on getting more sleep! Once I start waking up at 4 to go running again, this will be hard! The kids are going to bed later, so it’s challenging juggling that with the need to get up early.

Mind:

Blogging: I shared with you a couple of days ago that I celebrated my 1st blogaversary! I started blogging to give myself an outlet for writing because in my writing job, I don’t have a lot of opportunity to be creative. I’ve really enjoyed it, and will try to keep to at least one post a week, but if I can, a couple of posts every week.

Reading: I’d like to read a book every month. I’m really not into nonfiction, I’ll do it when I have to, but I much prefer reading novels. At the end of last year, I read some great books and would really like to get back to that this year.

Those are things I’m going to work on this year. Still working out specifics, and I hesitate to make things too specific for now.

I’m wrapping up this week with Holly and Trish for the weekly wrap-up! Visit their blogs to show them some love!

Any good book recommendations? Upper body workouts that you think I should try? 

28 thoughts on “New Year, New Me?”

  1. Yoga is SO good for runners! Good job for prioritizing it while you’re injured (but able to do yoga). I didn’t set any hard and fast goals this year, and took more of an approach of a bucket list of experiences. Hopefully some of the athletic goals get accomplished, but they are just some of a wide rich set of experiences I hope to have this year!

    Like

  2. I totally agree with you on the “New Year, New You” thing. It’s just not true. And not all of us hate ourselves so much that we need to trade ourselves in every year. 😉 You have mapped out some great goals. “A Man Called Ove” is the recent read I’m suggesting to everyone.

    Like

  3. I’ve been through a stress fracture in my shin, it is no fun to be out so long, but hopefully once it heals you will be on your way again. I did a lot of upper body work while I was out, I even got brave and went to the water aerobics the doc assigned me to.
    I did not see the cover of runners world, but I am not going to get a new me at my age lol I like your – me 1.9 idea 🙂

    Like

  4. I enjoy the new year because I see it as a fresh start, but I never liked the phrase “New Year, New You”. I think you’ve got some excellent goals for the year. One of my goals was to read once a quarter…I’m really hoping that since I failed that goal last year that I succeed in 2017!

    Wishing you a speedy recovery! The boot life isn’t fun…hang in there!

    Like

  5. I think it’s fine to be a runner and not have running goals. You have a big race in the fall. Taking care of yourself and being ready for that is a major goal right!
    I could use a lot of help in the planning meals part. I suck at this and really I could save money doing it too at least for supper at night having a plan instead of deciding at 5pm what we’re having.

    Like

  6. Those sound like great ideas to work on for the new year! I’m with you, I hate the whole “new you” thing. I’m happy with the current me, just working on being the best version of me possible 🙂

    Like

  7. I am so terrible at meal planning, but need to be a bit better at it. I hate the new year, new you thing, too. Sure, it’s a great time to revisit goals, check in, and make some plans but there’s no need to reinvent yourself every single year! That sounds exhausting. 🙂

    Like

  8. Would you believe I still haven’t worked on my goals? Too busy completing to-do lists, I guess.

    Boo to another month in the boot. But yay for yoga! I would love to do it in a studio, but I do it at home except on rare occasions. Lately I feel like I’m getting tighter. Not good.

    Even having the time to cook, sometimes there’s still no time — if that makes sense. There just always so much to do.

    Like

  9. Those are some great goals!! I’ve been trying to do more yoga, but have to go to the studio (need the incentive of losing $$ if I don’t use my class card) to keep me accountable.

    Like

  10. I’m sorry to hear you’re still in the boot. But it’s best to make certain you’ve healed properly. My eating needs improvement. When crunched for time — or busy marathon training — it’s the first thing to go. Thanks for linking, Sonia!

    Like

  11. Ugh! I know you can’t wait to get rid of that boot! Understandably!
    I think people always get the impression that they can start fresh in a new year: it’s a clean slate and the world is theirs for the taking. It’s a good attitude, if it can be maintained. That being said, making little improvements to a better you is a great way of doing it.

    Best of luck keeping up with the yoga and strength training. I always slack off with cross training, so I’m keeping that in mind this year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

