Weekly Wrap-up

Post-Marathon Syndrome (PMS)

 

img_2696

This weekly wrap is all about starting over from square one. Any else have PMS–post-marathon (or fill in big race) syndrome? Here are the classic symptoms:

  • Depressed (What’s the point of running anymore? These legs don’t even work. I look like Phoebe from Friends)
  • Crying spells (That dog in the commercial needs to get that treat. ** sniff sniff**)
  • Mood swings and irritability or anger (WHO ATE ALL THE COOKIES?!?!?)
  • Appetite changes and food cravings (Did someone say Halloween candy?)
  • Trouble falling asleep (insomnia) (I should have worn the other sleeveless shirt, better breathability … what do you think honey? ZZZZZZZZZ)
  • Poor concentration (Work? What’s that?? I just ran a marathon…so…)
  • Joint or muscle pain (Who made this $#$%#$ toilet so low?)
  • Fatigue (If I take a little nap right now in the kid pickup line, it’s no biggie)
  • Weight gain related to fluid retention (MUST.eat.all.the.foods.I.couldn’t.eat.before)
  • Abdominal bloating (Why these clothes tight?!)

Feel me on this one? Tell me I’m not alone. Luckily, I have some other races planned, so the real crash probably won’t happen until January after the Houston Marathon in 9 weeks (!). 🙂 In the meantime, I’m trying to honor the recovery process and just run for fun AND run with people I don’t normally get to run with because I usually have to run longer. I have the BCS half marathon Dec. 11, so it will be a good check-in race to see how my legs are recovering. I’m not hoping for much at that race.

 

img_2695

This week, I didn’t push the recovery because the roller coaster of emotions was hard core. I ran 4 easy miles Friday and 6.5 miles Saturday. I did lots of walking and stretching a little bit of yoga and some biking to get the littlest one off to school.

And that’s my week. I’m linking with Holly and Tricia for the Weekly Wrap-up!

18 thoughts on “Post-Marathon Syndrome (PMS)”

  1. After my weekend at Disney I took a week off because I wasn’t feeling well. I just had my first run today and my pace was much slower than I usually do. But I do not have any races for another month so I don’t need to have any strenuous workouts right now. It is kind of nice to just take it easy at times.

    Like

  2. Too funny! I love this. Yes, I have had PMS!!! I think it caused my rather rash decision to run another marathon in January. After that race, I
    m prepared to have even a worse case. I’ll definitely need an antidote. Recovery is hard. It’s not what we are used to during so many months of training. So kudos to you for sticking with it! Thanks for linking, Sonia!

    Like

  3. Ha ha! Yes, I can relate to a lot of these! I had a party Saturday night just to eat all the junk food I couldn’t eat while training!

    Like

  4. OMG, I do feel ya on this! I did embrace the recovery period after my marathon but then I was in full force about a month out with plenty of half’s. I just get so caught up in all the races!!! Congratulations, wow another on 9 weeks later, see I think your getting double the races for the one training period. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

