NYC Marathon, Weekly Wrap-up

NYC Marathon Training Week #19

 

img_2562

A long journey has almost come to an end. Exactly one more week until NYC Marathon. I can’t believe it’s almost here. Week 2 of Taperville has been dreamy. I’m enjoying the lesser mileage for a bit, but filled with cravings. I’m trying my best not to cave in to all the urges, but it’s not easy. And Halloween is here too. Talk about temptation!!

Coming off last weekend with a LOT of driving and my third and last half marathon in October, I didn’t want to push too hard through the week. I want to stay healthy and hopefully injury free. I hit all of my paces and felt good!

Here’s how my week went: 34.5 miles of running and 5 miles of biking

  • Monday: Easy 6 mile Run
  • Tuesday: 6x600s
  • Wednesday: off
  • Thursday: 6 mile tempo run
  • Friday: Easy 6 miles
  • Saturday: 10 miles

My last long run yesterday was fun. I wanted to get an average of 8:23/mile pace, and I held 8:17. My last mile split was 7:51! The whole run felt awesome, and it was such a nice ending to the hard, hot summer!

The weather right now in NYC is looking pretty good for race day. Low of 40 and high of 55!

My goals for the race are:

Goal A: HAVE FUN! Despite the nasty weather, during my first marathon last December (rainy, windy and 55), I had fun. I was cracking jokes and chatting almost the whole time. The second marathon I had fun until I feel behind my friend at mile 15 or 16. Everyone I’ve encountered who’s already run NYC has said it’s a fun race, so I want to enjoy it as much as possible because I’m pretty sure this will be my last NYC (never say never, right?)

Goal B: 3:42 or better finish time (BQ) Ambitious considering my training! Still don’t know whether my little legs are ready for that pace and with the crowds/weather/course whether that will happen. I know NYC is a tough course.

Goal C: Beat my PR of 3:48

Goal D: Finish under 4 hours.

That’s my week. How was your week?

I’m linking with Holly and Tricia for the Weekly Wrap-up!

 

29 thoughts on “NYC Marathon Training Week #19”

  1. Glad your taper has gone so well!

    I plan to be trolling the expo on Friday afternoon. I realize most people probably won’t be there yet. Saturday I’m doing the Dash to the Finish Line, meeting up with people at 4 pm, maybe a tour midday haven’t decided yet.

    If I don’t see you (probable) have a GREAT race! You’ve definitely worked for it.

    Like

  2. Sounds like a really solid training cycle for you!! I’m running it too, and my ‘goal race’ was 3 weeks ago where I hit the pr I wanted, so this one is definitely all about having fun. I’m excited!!

    Like

  3. Glad to hear that you last long run went well. I remember doing my last long run before my marathon and it also went well so I had some confidence coming off of that. You put in all the hard work, now it’s time to show what you’ve done. You got this! Enjoy the rest of the taper.

    Like

  4. You have trained really hard, I hope you can hit your race goal ! I would love to hit 4:45, but I am really in it for the experience.
    I will be at the race expo Saturday morning. Not exactly sure when though. Have a good week !

    Like

  5. Congratulations on all of your hard work and I feel confident it will pay off in NYC. I watch it evety year on TV and get chill bumps just thinking about hat it must feel like at that starting line when you first hear…”start spreading the news…” blaring over the oud speakers!!! Have a great time, soak it all in and go for that BQ….you can do it!!

    Like

  6. Oh boy, the NYC marathon is this weekend…how exciting! I can’t wait to hear how it goes, I’m sure you’ll have such a fun time and hopefully get that PR!

    Like

  7. You’ve had a great training cycle despite that awful heat and humidity! You are well prepared and will be rewarded for all of your hard work on race day! Have fun! Enjoy every step! NYC should be very pretty this time of year (I’ve visited twice in November). Thanks for linking, Sonia!

    Like

Leave a Reply

