NYC Marathon, Weekly Wrap-up

NYC Marathon Training Week #17

screen-shot-2016-10-16-at-1-06-00-pm

Can you believe this countdown!!!?!?!?! I’m getting an email from the TCS NYC Marathon folks every other day (or so it seems), and all I keep thinking is, omg, omg, omg! Still feeling all the emotions on any given day and after this week: TAPER!!! Woohoo!

Reading all the race recaps from Chicago, I was so happy to hear so many people PR’ed and had a great race. It was so exciting to hear people reach their goals after this long training season. I have to admit I’m a little jealous because their big day is done. And I still have three weeks to go.

This has been a long training cycle, and this was my highest mileage week of this training.

My week in summary: 57.7 miles running and 7 miles biking = 64.7 miles total

This week felt good. The weather was warm…again so we didn’t feel the chilly morning temps like the week before. Boo! But, that’s the way it is here in TX. Wait a few minutes and the weather will change.

  • Monday: Easy 8 miles
  • Tuesday: 1000’s
  • Wednesday: off
  • Thursday: 7 mile tempo
  • Friday: Easy 8 miles
  • Saturday: 6 easy miles
  • Sunday: 3 miles easy, Half Marathon, 4 miles easy = 20 miles
  • Sunday was the Nutrabolt Oktoberfest Half Marathon & 10K here in town.

It’s a small race, and the second time this company has held it. Last year, Hurricane Patricia came close to the area and brought some flooding, heavy rain and winds right on race day with temps in the 50s. This year, was sunny with a race day start of 70 and 98% humidity. I think I’ll take rain any day. Even with a 7 am start, it was warm and muggy, and I was already sweaty by the time I got to the start because I ran 3 miles to warmup. We had a lot of people in our running group run either the Half or the 10K, and several people who weren’t running came out to cheer! It’s always fun to see your friends along the course.

img_2460

I saw this on the course around mile 6 and just had to take a picture. So pretty! The clouds dissipated and it turned out to be a sunny day.

img_2467

The coolest thing about the race was getting to finish INSIDE Kyle Field where the Aggies play football. We ran through the player’s tunnel and around the side of the field and could even see our finish on the jumbo monitor. This is the closest I will be to a college football field.

img_2471

The course was relatively flat but had two big hills right after another around mile 8 and 9. The course was well-marked with lots of volunteers, water stations around every 1.5 miles to 2 miles that were well-stocked. Even though I ran with a water bottle with Skratch, I still took water at every stop.  I finished in 1:49–not a PR, but I’m happy with that because I was not racing this AT ALL. My goal was to keep close to marathon pace, and I did. This is my second half-marathon this month and my 11th overall! I also picked up a second place AG award. I got a running hat from SweatVac Performance Wear. That was a pleasant surprise because there were so many fast runners.  Runners also got a T-shirt, reusable bag, beach towel, and a beer mug. The post-race food was bananas, oranges, water, soft pretzels, kolaches (Czech pastries with fruit in the middle) and bratwurst. I was really not in the mood for brats but I managed to eat a few bites of pretzel and pastry.

After the race and watching my friends finish, I ran 2 miles with my friend Lisa and then another 2 on my own on campus. I never get to run on certain parts of campus because it’s not part of our usual route, but this was fun.
img_2475 img_2477 img_2478I was very happy to be finished! And now, it’s taper time. 🙂

I’m linking with Holly and Tricia for the Weekly Wrap-up!

Which race conditions would you rather have: rain or heat/humidity? Celebrating Oktoberfest?

26 thoughts on “NYC Marathon Training Week #17”

  1. I’ll pass on the humidity any day. Congratulations on a great half marathon and your AG award! And welcome to taper land. You’ve worked so hard this summer and I have no doubt you’ll reach your goals in NYC in wonderfully cooler temps. Thanks for linking, Sonia!

    Like

  2. Sounds like a great race but sorry about all the humidity. Humidity or rain, that’s a tough one. I think I’d take the rain as long as it wasn’t cold. Plus finishing a race in the rain makes you feel like you’ve accomplished another challenge..lol

    Like

  3. rain vs. heat/humidity? I’ll go with heat/humidity. I ran a similar race today…2-mile warm-up/half marathon/3 additional miles afterwards (18ish total miles). And, it was very hot and humid. It was more of a training run than a race, but I managed a decent finish time (in comparison to what my 13.1’s have been recently), especially considering the extreme conditions we had…glad there was no sunshine!

    Like

  4. Give me ANY weather over heat/humidity ANY day!! I actually run better when it is really cold!! I hate getting out there, but once I am…I love it! Congratulations on your Sunday 20 miler…impressive half marathon time! I laugh because you said you weren’t racing at all ….even at my fastest, I’ve never come close to breaking 2 hours!! You’re quite the speedy little lady. Rest up and enjoy the taper….the Big Apple is waiting to be conquered!

    Like

  5. I can’t believe it is less than 3 weeks away ! I had my last long run this weekend and it felt great. Really boosted my confidence !

    Like

  6. Phew, so many miles! Congrats on your race and AG win! I’m starting to think that I like hills in some races, as long as they aren’t a surprise lol!

    Like

  7. Way to get in your training run and a race as well! Why do you say its as close as you’ll get to a college football field? I did a half in Oxford and we finished on the newly Manning center practice field for the Ole Miss Rebels, I just loved it but then again I love my Rebels!
    I am just in awe of your “non-racing pace” to finish in 1:49 Wow! I love pretzels and out of all of my races I’ve done none of them had pretzels at the end! Boo!
    Since I’m used to running in heat and humidity I’d pick it over knowing I have to run in the rain. Enjoy the taper Sonia!

    Like

  8. That sounds like a really fun race! I definitely prefer rain to heat/humidity. Of course, I’d prefer neither 🙂 Though I think almost all my current PRs were set in the rain…

    Like

  9. Congratulations on the half! What a great way to add it into your training program!
    NYC Marathon is an awesome experience, I still remember when I ran in a few years back. You’re going to have an amazing time. Good luck with your final weeks of training and tapering down to get ready for the race!

    Like

  10. Rain or heat/humidity – probably heat and humidity, because that’s what I know best. Being from Texas (as you know), heat and humidity are 80% of my runs. I have only run in the rain a few times (probably less than 10 times), and learned that I HATE getting my feet wet. Once my feet are wet, it all goes downhill from there. Congrats on your race! Just noticed this is an old post (how’d I end up here?) but still, congrats 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

