NYC Marathon, Weekly Wrap-up

NYC Marathon Training Week #15

I’m calling this week’s wrap-up Sucker Punch.

img_2407

It all started with me punching a kid. I should have known that was an ominous sign.

Wait, before you call CPS. It’s not what you think. I swear.

Let me back up. My daughter is doing these re-enacted museums to wrap up the lessons they’re learning in Social Studies. They had just finished the Prehistoric unit and turned their classrooms into caves. Each group of cave people had jobs: some spear makers, medicine people, etc. The classroom caves had tarp to cover the doors, and with all the students on the floor banging on rocks and saying ooga booga it was sensory overload. There were kids zipping in and out of the classroom around the parents who were trying to ask questions, and some kids really had no sense of personal space. I mean really. None. But, it was cute to see everyone really getting into it. When it was time to clean up, some parents and I stayed to help clean up. The lead teacher was calling for everything to be brought out into the main pod area, and as I was carrying some things out, I had to move the tarp covering the door out of the way. As I was walking out, a boy walked through the tarp into the classroom, and my fingernail brushed against his forehead. I immediately apologized and asked if he was ok. He didn’t even look at me, but he said yea and reached up to his forehead, then kept walking. I didn’t think anything of it. So, later when I was driving home, my daughter asked, “Did you punch someone in school?” I almost veered off the road. “WHAT?? Someone said I punched them.” I told her what happened and how my fingernail grazed someone’s forehead, but that I never punched him. I asked her what he said and if he was crying. She said he wasn’t upset, just told everyone I accidentally punched him. Oh. Ok. Is that all?? Talk about a sucker punch.

Then, a little over a week ago, I was writing my weekly running group email that I send out with the plan for the week. I was detailing some local races people could sign up for, and the Buffalo Stampede came up on Oct. 1. This half marathon and 5K is a small local race that benefits the Brazos Valley Museum of Natural History, and for the past two years has conflicted with other local races I’ve run. This year, I looked at the calendar, and there was nothing really going on other than kid’s football practice. I haven’t race much and I was itching to do something. A half marathon would be just the thing and this would be #10! I asked the hubs if it was ok if I registered, and he gave the green light that nothing was going on other than Aggie football game later in the day. I got a discount code and woohoo! I signed up for the race. I put it o the calendar, and hot diggity dog, I was ready. I had planned to do a 20-miler that day anyway. So, I figured I would do 2-3 miles before, do the race and finish with 4 miles while my friends and I were waiting around eating etc. Get home in plenty of time.

And then…my husband says, “What’s this Buffalo Stampede on the calendar?”

Um. Why? He had committed to doing a golf tournament that very same morning. DOH. I had forgotten that he had told me that (because it was not on the calendar). No problemo. A little hiccup. I found a new sitter. Ready to go. The race started at 7:30 am so I’d have plenty of time to finish and be back. I lined her up to stay until 11:30am. That would give me time to finish the miles and stay to chat with other runners if I wanted to. But, I told her, I’ll be back well before 10:30am.

Then, the weather this week was amazing. Like angels in the sky, part the clouds, AH-MAZ-ING. After every day being in the high 70s at 5 am, to have low 60s even 58 on Friday, was like a gift from heaven. And race day was slated to be the same. No rain. No heat front scheduled to come in. Low 60s and sunny. Awesome!

The weather was great. My new Runegades singlet and skirts Sports skirt was ready to go with my bib. I got ready, ate breakfast, did a dynamic warmup and got on my way. The race directions specifically said the main entrance would be closed (because it’s part of the course) so to use a back entrance. I knew something was up when I used the back entrance and saw other cars still using the front entrance without a problem. Hmmmm.

The race coincided with a local festival celebrating pioneer days. So, some people had fires already going and were walking around in old-fashioned costumes. I decided to run circles around the parking lot to get some miles in. I ran 3 miles with 45 minutes until race time. No problem. Everything was going according to plan. I brought two gels and had eaten a good breakfast before hand so I brought half a bagel for just in case.

img_2402

I had to take a picture next to the wagon.

img_2404

About 20 minutes before the start, I took my gel. Had my water bottle with skratch. I was ready. And then, as we were lining up for the start at 7:20 am, the race director told us, the good news. It’s a beautiful day. The bad news, the race will not start on time. Not only that, but it will be 2 hours before it starts. Why? Because the race management they hired had completely dropped the ball in getting the course marked off. No cones on the road (and the race ran along a major highway), no start. Womp womp.

Another sucker punch. Starting at 9:30 am would put a real damper on may plans of casually finishing up the miles after the race. At this point, I texted the sitter to see if she could stay. She could stay until noon. I told her I would be home by 11:45 am. At noon I had to leave to take kid 2 to football practice at 12:15pm. Gulp. What to do?? Everyone weighed the costs and many runners (understandably so) left because of other time commitments. I knew it would be close, but at that point, I really just wanted to run the race.

img_2409

It was a beautiful morning. My friend and I decided to stick it out and run a few miles to pass the time. We finished up a little 5K on what was supposed to be the 5k course. As we got back to the starting line, they were just starting to put cones out. We waited.

img_2414

By this time, I was starving. I finished my bagel. Mo, the buffalo, was not happy either.

img_2415

So much for enjoying the nice weather. Temps were climbing quickly after 9:30. The race had no crowd support. A few water stops. It was warm. And I quickly drank all 20 ounces of my water bottle, so I decided to drink at every water stop. At most of the water stops, the people left the cups on the table and pointed to which ones were Gatorade and water. Um. No. At the first stop, I knocked off a cup of water. Grrr.

This race is out and back, which I don’t really like. There’s something about seeing the first place people soaring past you while you plod along. Nevertheless, I said good job to everyone that passed me even though I was hot, hot, hot. I wasn’t setting out to break any PRs for this race, so I kept the pace comfortable. I finished in 1:51 and change. Got a cold water bottle. Got my medal. Took a picture.

img_2418I hopped in the car and raced home. Paid the sitter. Changed clothes. And got to football practice with three kids in tow by 12:10. Boom. Talk about rolling with the punches. 🙂

Started October off with some bling. Finished September with 204 miles of running and 282 miles total with biking.

This week I ran almost 49 miles and another 10 miles of biking. All in all a good week. Getting excited, scared, nervous about NYC!

screen-shot-2016-10-02-at-4-18-25-pm

That’s a wrap! I’m linking with Holly and Tricia for the Weekly Wrap-up!

 

 

25 thoughts on “NYC Marathon Training Week #15”

  1. Ugh. That is an utter fail of race direction! I would not hire that company again. Awesome job of hanging tough and running the race anyway. I would have left to eat breakfast and come back. I can’t run that distance on empty. My hubs plays in golf tournaments too. But, my kids are older now so it doesn’t matter. NYC is just around the corner! You’ll do fantastic. Thanks for linking, Sonia!

    Like

  2. Congrats for completing the half marathon even under those sucky conditions 😦 I probably would have been too flustered to run!

    You had an awesome high mileage week /month! I hope that we are able to meet up at some point during the marathon weekend!

    Like

  3. 2 HOURS? OMG, I’d want to punch someone.

    Mr. Judy and I are often coordinating weekend schedules because of the dogs, LOL! And I am often kicking Bandit in the face when he’s behind me and gets to close and I’m not aware he’s there, but of course he doesn’t tattle on me. 🙂

    Like

  4. You may have been sucker punched but you did a great job getting everything done plus getting the kids to practice on time. I would have been SO upset about the race, hopefully they will make it up to the people who had to leave.

    Like

  5. Definitely impressive rolling with the punches! That’s too bad about the race starting so late 😦 I’m not sure I would have stayed and would have been tempted to just leave and do the miles on my own at that point.

    Like

  6. Wow girly you were really rolling with the punches this week for sure! Hate it when races do not start on time but this Wow, I’d be pissed, but what can you do?? I also hate it when I forget something important on the calendar! I am notorious about pulling together last minute trips and if I don’t have everything on the calendar I can make a screw-up quick! Thanks for joining us I can hardly wait to how race day goes for you!

    Like

  7. Wow, crazy week. Sometimes the stars just align like that and you need to go with the flow. Seems like you did that just perfectly !

    Like

  8. Wow, what a crazy race… just wow. (I had actually thought about driving up and doing that race, but decided to do the 10 mile one that’s right in my back yard).

    Like

Leave a Reply

