NYC Marathon, Weekly Wrap-up

NYC Marathon Training Week #14

img_2371

Another week: Another journey.

“Success is a journey, not a destination. The doing is often more important than the outcome.” -Arthur Ashe

 

Happy Fall! I LOVE Fall. I got married in the Fall, and on the East Coast, the gorgeous colors we could experience were amazing! We didn’t have to go anywhere to view the foliage changing from green to gold, auburn and crimson because every day the trees would look different, as if a paint brush had touched them in certain spots. The kids and I would collect leaves and press them, but you could never completely capture the vibrant color of the season when they were dried and pressed. Unfortunately, in this area of Texas, we go from green to brown, almost in an instant. There’s nothing in between. So, when I found these frosted sugar cookies at our favorite bakery, I just had to get them. They were yummy!

img_2355

Thanks to Judy for sharing Lost Maples, TX for fall foliage viewing. Hopefully, we can get there to get a glimpse of some interesting color.

This week was a great week of training and was a nice change from the brutal exhaustion I’ve been dealing with. No, our weather hasn’t changed…yet. But, for some reason, I had a little more energy than normal. Maybe it’s because I’ve been waking up 15 minutes later for the workouts and make much more concerted effort to go to bed on time. Just 41 days to go until the big day!

screen-shot-2016-09-25-at-3-35-46-pm

Highlights from this week were that I reached 2,000 km for the year! Woohoo! I hadn’t set any mileage goal for the year, but have been keeping track of what I’ve been doing. Last year at this time, I was close to reaching 2015 MILES for the year. But, this year’s journey is different, and that’s ok. It’s no better or worse, just different. I learn different things from different training cycles, races, seasons, right?

This week, I did 6 days of the NY Times 7-minute workout I shared last week. I’m happy that I’ve been keeping consistent because I am usually completely undisciplined when it comes to at-home workouts. I can feel the difference it has made. There’s no bulging biceps by ANY stretch, but the flapjacks that some would call triceps have taken a hike. I made an effort to do these as soon as I got home from workouts. That way I can direct the school preparation process while I do that. My 8-year-old daughter joined the workout. She does gymnastics, so her core is crazy strong. My oldest son was full of “constructive” criticism on our form. As I’m doing pushup to side plank, I told him he better put his money where his mouth is and put up or….

img_2346

This week I ran: 45.7 miles. (Where’s that .3????) and I biked 18.9 miles. For a total mileage of 64.6 miles.

Monday’s easy run felt good.

img_2343  The first day of Fall’s we saw this sunrise on the ride to school.  img_2348 I made a Key Lime cake just because I had some Key Limes to use up. It’s carb-loading…img_2358

Thursday’s run we had temps of 71 and only 85% humidity. It felt glorious. The tempo run on Thursday has been my nemesis. I’m slogging through the hilly course we have, and I haven’t been able to hit my tempo pace for more than a mile. So, I began to dread Thursday workouts. This week, I felt great and was able to hit my old tempo pace for the last mile. My splits were great and best of all, I felt good the whole time.

For Saturday’s run, I decided to do 15 miles. My friend Lesley was doing a trail race, but I hemmed and hawed. I’m not a trail runner, and I’m a klutz on a flat surface. I finally decided not to do the race (I’m sure it’s in my future, though!) and just do a run on my own. I felt great. The temps were 75 and 97% humidity, but I felt good. I didn’t push the pace too much unless I felt like I could. When I needed to back off, I did.

img_2366 img_2368

I finished the day with a 5 mile bike ride with my oldest when the temp was close to 100. I would have kept going, but after 5 miles he was done. 🙂

img_2373

I’m linking with Holly and Tricia for the Weekly Wrap-up.

Any fun fall traditions?

12 thoughts on “NYC Marathon Training Week #14”

  1. Fall is my favorite season too, and our anniversary is next week! The Johnson & Johnson 7 Minute Workout app is a really good one – and let’s you build other workouts too. Going to bed earlier is something I’ve been working on. It’s so hard to do but makes such a big difference.

    Like

  2. Where did you live on the East Coast? I currently live on the East coast and our leaves haven’t even started to change yet. It was still 90 degrees just last week. I have a feeling we might be going from green to brown leaves too since it has been unseasonably warm here.

    I was in gymnastics when I was younger too and I can’t believe how strong my core use to be! Why can’t I have that same strength as an adult?..lol

    Like

  3. I don’t think we realize just how getting enough sleep really helps us! Not just ok here and there but a consistent schedule! I’m glad you are seeing that help you too!
    Fall is my favorite season too. I usually really like to shop for fall clothes but this year I can hardly bring myself to look at sweaters with it in the upper 90’s still after work.
    Ahhh, Fall has got to be coming soon right!?!?

    Like

  4. Great job this week and I’m glad to hear your energy level is better. Congratulations on the mileage too. I’m such a sucker for frosted sugar cookies. We do eventually get fall color, but not until around Thanksgiving. And you have to look quick — it goes away fast. You are seriously making me hungry today! The key lime cake looks delicious! It’s exciting that your marathon is getting so close too. Thanks for linking, Sonia!

    Like

  5. That cake looks amazing! I love the fall colors here too. They haven’t started to change yet, but it’s just around the corner so something to look forward to. Sounds like a great week of training!

    Like

  6. What a great week. I’m glad fall is coming ,I love the cooler weather and crunching leaves when on a run. My kids also bike ride with us when we run, and sometimes when they run with us its usually an easy run, but we love to have them with us. I just hope that they will continue running as they age. Hope we are teaching them to enjoy an active life style.
    hope you have a great week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

