NYC Marathon, Weekly Wrap-up

NYC Marathon Training Week #13

img_2330

This week was another good week of training. Challenging, but good. I was tired all week, and the cumulative fatigue of the last 13 weeks of training is definitely being felt in my legs (and my brain). Work was super busy and life was busy, and it was all catching up with me.

This week, I gave myself a challenge of doing a HIIT style workout. I tried this one from the New York Times that I can complete in 7 minutes (in theory). Of seven days this week, I did 6. Pretty good! I felt the soreness in my upper body all week because I usually don’t to push ups and tricep dips. I’m very weak in the upper body! I definitely saw improvement after just 6 days.

Here’s my week:

Monday: Easy 8 miles. Felt good.

Tuesday: 1000 intervals; tired but good.

Thursday: 7 mile tempo. Tired. This has been my nemesis all training season. My paces are not anywhere near my true tempo pace. I’m claiming heat and humidity.

Friday: I overslept and got an extra hour of sleep. I woke up a little after 5 and darted off to meet my friends. Squeezed in 6.5 miles instead of 8. I felt great after getting some extra sleep. I also got some yoga flow done.

Saturday: 20 mile run. This has been my longest run of the training season. This was hard. We had a little pit stop to refill water bottles (I had three water bottles with me but was going through them very quickly). The last few miles were really tough just to keep plodding along. Overall pace was 9:15. Not what I had planned but we got it done. This is how Lesley and I felt after the run.

 

img_2331

img_2334

We celebrated with…tacos..what else?? Recovery was lots of compression, hot bath, foam rolling and stretching. I didn’t do the 7-minute workout because my foot was sore and I didn’t want to push it.

The running group Lesley and I started a few months ago is now 40+ people! The Brazos Valley Runegades now has cute new shirts to wear. We have cotton shirt (the gray) and tech singlets and short sleeves in blue. Lesley designed the logo for the shirt. Isn’t it purty?!?!?!

img_2332 img_2333  img_2335

Total 49 miles running; 13 miles biking.

That’s my week!

How was your week? I’m linking with Holly and Tricia for the Weekly Wrap-up!

18 thoughts on “NYC Marathon Training Week #13”

  1. I have this little 12 Min HIIT app on my phone. Ahem…I’ve never used it. LOL. My brain is so fuzzy at this point. It just flits from one thing to another. I keep telling myself to focus! I think your pace was great for 20 miles in the heat. I was barely shuffling along and was thrilled to do that. I do love your blue tank and your design. Thanks for linking, Sonia!

    Like

  2. 9:15 pace ? For 20 miles ? You rock. I did 10 mile repeats and struggled to hit 10:15 ! If I finish the race in under 5 hours I will be very happy.
    I have added in lots of cross training because my feet, knees & Achilles were whining a little… 3 to 4 runs a week is my limit.

    Like

  3. I love the design of your shirts for your running group – and congrats on your group’s success! You had a great training week, kudos!

    Like

  4. 9:15 for 20 miles is very impressive…heck, I couldn’t hold that for 10 miles!! Great job on growing your running group to 40+ and the shirts are adorable! Good luck with the marathon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

