NYC Marathon Training Week #12

img_2319

Week #12: I Know I Can

This week, I completed another good week of training. This marathon training cycle, unlike my previous two marathons, has been smack dab in the middle of the summer heat. And, it’s been hotter than previous summers, fo to the sho. So, some runs are good, and some runs… not so much.

And…I’m my worst critic! I go into a run with a goal in mind… and sometimes it doesn’t happen, right? So, after some workouts, even if it didn’t turn out the way I wanted, my instinct is always to focus on the negative. It’s ironic because we encourageΒ one of my kids who tends to be a Negative Norman/Nancy to be a Positive Paul/Polly. But this training cycle, I’m trying to focus on the positive: I finished the run. I hit my pace for a mile. I didn’t die. πŸ™‚

But, when I look back at my runs this week, I feel pretty good at how my training is going.

This week, I finished almost 47 miles in running, and did 27 miles of biking. Most days, I try to do some strength training. My friend Lesley and I post strength workouts to our group running group page for the whole group to do. I also tried to do some yoga even though I couldn’t get to the studio.

img_2287

Trying to do a handstand.

img_2313

Just got this shirt from Running Warehouse. πŸ™‚ LOVE.

This week’s workouts:

  • Monday: Easy 8 miles
  • Tuesday: 4 1 Mile intervals, all sub-8 pace, 8 miles total
  • Wednesday: yoga
  • Thursday: 8 mile tempo, solid run, but struggled at the end.
  • Friday: Easy 8 miles
  • Saturday, I ran 14 miles and all splits were sub-9 pace. I averaged 8:40, which was supposed to be marathon pace, but hey, it was HUMID. So, I’m happy.
  • Sunday: 17-mile bike ride.

img_2320

I had to capture the sunrise on Saturday. Gorgeous.

img_2322Β img_2325 img_2327

Trying to take a photo while riding and not falling off. This was a busy road so I forgot to smile.

I let my husband take the kids to the football game while I got some work done. With a side of wine.

img_2323

How is your training going? Are you Negative Nancy or Positive Polly?

I’m linking withΒ HollyΒ andΒ TriciaΒ for the Weekly Wrap-up!

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, wife, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

20 thoughts on “NYC Marathon Training Week #12”

  1. “I didn’t die”. Always a positive. LOL. You are having a great training cycle! I.love.that.top! You captured some pretty sunrises this week. I’m super jealous of that pace on your 14 miler too. Oh my — bike selfies are so hard! Good job. Thanks for linking, Sonia!

    Like

  2. wow! You have some serious mileage! I consider myself a positive person…but often question if I’m too positive (and oblivious to what’s “really going on”). I ran a half yesterday, and the middle 4 miles or so sucked any remaining positivity right outta me. I finished strong, but my time was so disappointing. I definitely had a carb crash, but I should have been better prepared. UGH. Onward!

    Like

  3. Wow, that sounds like an amazing week. I feel my training is going well, and I am happy to be back with a routine. The summer threw me off.

    Like

  4. When it comes to training, I can definitely be a Negative Nancy sometimes. I always have to take things in perspective and thing of the big picture. It helps a lot! You had a great week! This weather has been so rough…hopefully things will ease up for you in the next few weeks!

    Like

  5. I’m typically a really positive person but when it comes to fitness, I’m so hard on myself! I struggled terribly on my Saturday run and just couldn’t let it go. I started beating myself up about it before I even finished it!! Runners tend to be competitive creatures by nature so it stands to reason that we would be hard on ourselves πŸ™‚ But, I do think, ultimately, we are all just proud that we ‘finished and didn’t die’! Haha! Sounds like you had a great training week and I love the bike selfie….I have one similar in my Weekly Wrap as well!

    Like

  6. I love that new shirt you got! Great job getting all those workouts in with the heat. I had a horrible run on Saturday and was pretty negative about it. Afterward, I tried to think of the positives but it was hard when I hadn’t had a run that slow in years. But it’s something to work on! I feel like the more we try to be positive, the more it will come naturally in the future. It’s a good habit to try to get into.

    Like

  7. What a great week of training! I tend more on the Positive Polly side of things in life as general, but sometimes can be a real Negative Nancy and beat myself up… I think everyone is their worst critic.

    Like

  8. Seriously, I counted not fainting, throwing up, or dying after my run Saturday as a total win. πŸ™‚ My half will probably be warm, but it shouldn’t be humid!

    And as Darlene likes to say, finishing = winning. You’re doing great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

