NYC Marathon Training Week #10

IMG_2193

We survived the first week of school! The kids were off bright and early, shiny new binders (we called them Trapper Keepers), crisp notebook paper, sharpened pencils, and with the smell of potential in the air, I sent them off on their way. Not before taking the obligatory FB first day of school photos.

IMG_2189

The kids were singing Pink Floyd’s “Another Brick in the Wall,” while I was humming Prince’s “1999.” LOL.

IMG_2190

Seriously, I love my kids, and we had a wonderful summer of learning and adventure, but I won’t lie, it had been a long 10 days of single parenthood and I was happy to see them off to school (and they were excited too!) so that they could I could get to work uninterrupted. It’s hard to work at home and mediate every.single.argument.

This week marks the halfway point in my 20-week training program for NYC Marathon. Eek. I’ve confessed that I’m excited, but I’m also really, really nervous about this race. I don’t enjoy big crowds that much. Yes, it was a GREAT idea to sign up for the biggest race in the world. 🙂

This week has been very exciting. I had another solid week of training. I’m really happy to be able to keep running. While watching the Olympics, there were a lot of commercials about the paralympics and amazing individuals who have overcome tragic circumstances and obstacles to compete. I teared up every time I watch those commercials. And I kept thinking, I may get a lot slower, but I’m so grateful I felt like all the effort and hard work is starting to pay off a little bit with not feeling like I’m dragging during every single workout.

Here’s a summary: 40 miles running, 15 miles biking, yoga and pushups

Tuesday we ran hills. Oh the hills. They are soo good, but so hard. They are a wonderful way to strengthen your body AND your mind. Every single hill repeat, at the bottom I was like, this isn’t so bad, then toward the steeper part of the ascent, I was like WHAT THE??? One of the worst hills in our little section of town is a doozy, a quarter mile of 300 ft ascent is tough. We did it 8 times. Then I did lunges and squats.
IMG_2196

With the start of school is another form of exercise. We don’t have a bus to pick up the littlest one for school, and I hate the car line with every fiber of my being, so we opt for cycling. It adds up to 3 miles of cycling per day (at a VERY leisurely pace) but still, that’s 3 more than I was doing. Every day, the little says, “I’ll race ya!” as she peddles off the driveway. It doesn’t take long before I’m encouraging her to ride faster.

IMG_2201

When I ran the 2016 Houston Marathon, it was wonderful weather. Sunny, clear, low humidity, 50s that warmed up to 60s. Ideal running weather, but I felt really hot. I love running in a visor, and I adore running in Headsweats visors because of their sweat-wicking terry headband (I’m currently living in them for every workout), but my black hair is a magnet for the heat. So, I wanted to try the race hat. It came in the mail this week. It’s super light weight. I’m not a hat person, but I really wanted to try this, so I’ll be wearing it for my long run next week to see if it helps the I can fry an egg on my head feeling.

I finished my 12 mile run about 10 seconds average slower than marathon pace, but my last 3 mile splits were right on pace and my last mile was 10 second faster than marathon pace, so I was happy.

The run started out in the mid-70s but it didn’t feel too bad compared to the past few weeks. I’ll take it.

IMG_2205

Another exciting development is our running group the Brazos Valley Runegades is up to 30 members! We’re approaching our 6-month anniversary. Never in my wildest dreams did I think so many people would want to join us, but it has proven that our free running group has really found a niche. I’m so grateful for such a supportive group of people! They’re an amazing group of runners of all paces, abilities and experiences–that’s the best part.

I’ve been wanting to buy a new watch for about a year. I originally bought a TomTom watch two years ago. It’s been great to track basic workouts etc. There are some features that were frustrating about the TomTom that led me to want the new watch.

First, you can’t set intervals for hundredth of miles, only to the tenths. So, doing a 400m intervals meant changing the units of measure, which was a big pain. I can run at 5 am, but don’t expect me to be able to do complex watch functions. LOL. When you have a manual lap mode, you’re supposed to be able tap the screen to set a new lap. Because the screen is so sensitive the slightest bit of moisture disrupts the ability to tap the screen and set a new lap. Well, guess how my hands feel after running an all out interval in 90% humidity and 70 degree weather?? That’s right. SWEATY. I tried wiping my hands on my clothes. Also sweaty. I tried drying them in different ways. Nope. So, I couldn’t get an accurate measure of my effort during interval workouts. Not a huge deal, but it became annoying. The battery life was not as advertised either. I remember doing a 20 mile run by myself and booking it to the end of the last stretch. Watching the mileage click up as I glanced at my watch waiting patiently for that next mile interval beep, 19.67, 19. 75…Then nothing. I got the battery dead symbol. Oh the horror.

So, I’d been eyeing the Garmin Forerunner 230, and just waiting for the right time to buy it. It’s hard for me to justify buying a new watch when the other watch does in fact work, and is fine. But…

So, after my Saturday run, I splurged. It was the left one left at our running store. Yay! I’m still learning how to use it after studying the user’s manual, but I can’t wait to try it tomorrow.

IMG_2207

If you could splurge on one running-related item this week, what would it be? 

I’m linking with Holly and Tricia for the Weekly Wrap-up!

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, wife, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

7 thoughts on “NYC Marathon Training Week #10”

  1. Isn’t is so annoying how the touch screens won’t work when your fingers have been soaking in sweat? I can’t get my phone to operate many times after a run. I think it is an awesome idea to ride the bikes to school. That little extra every day adds up. I enjoy the daily structure that the school year provides. Smell the potential…that’s too funny. Oh, and 300 feet? Beast! Thanks for linking, Sonia!

    Like

  2. I currently have a Garmin that works just fine but if I ever train for another marathon I would like to get one that has a longer battery life and more options for intervals as well!

    I had to laugh when you mentioned “trapper keepers” because that’s what I called them when I was in school. I currently teach middle school and I mentioned “trapper keeper” and the kids didn’t know what I was talking about!

    Like

  3. What? Half way there already dang the weeks have flown by have they not? I bet you are glad to have the kids back in a routine and in school. There was no routine at all with mine. They’d stay up to after midnight and sleep to the afternoon during the summer.
    It is super great you can ride your bikes to school with the kidos!
    I think you’ll love the Garmin. I too came from a TomTom. I liked it ok but I love my Garmin. I have the 235 so very similar.
    Thanks for linking up with us lady!

    Like

  4. The new watch is an exciting purchase! I look forward to hearing what you think about it. I’m contemplating upgrading my watch too. I kind of want one with built in heart rate monitoring. But like you said, I’m having a hard time justifying it when the one I have still works fine. Sounds like you’re doing great with the training!

    Like

Leave a Reply

