NYC Marathon Training Week #9

IMG_2177

“The journey isn’t always perfect, but always worth taking.” Kara Goucher

This quote has been oh-so-true this marathon training season. I went into the season with some good goals, a solid base of fitness, a plan for training, and got started with getting it done.

Then, I started the season off with touch of PF, added a dash of tendonitis, stirred in some hip flexor inflammation for good measure, and then seasoned it all with a generous helping of summer heat and humidity. LOL. Sounds delicious? We’ve also had a lot of travel this summer, which threw my running schedule off quite a bit more than I had planned, and then the hubs has had a lot of travel (he’s finishing a 10-day trip tomorrow), which has made for creative scheduling of running. So, this training season hasn’t been perfect, and Kara’s words hit home. It’s not perfect, and that’s ok. I wouldn’t trade a thing…ok, maybe the hip flexor stuff, but other than that…I’m learning a lot.

  • Life will always get in the way. It’s a long training season and something’s interesting and frustrating are bound to happen. Travel, injury, too much margaritas. 🙂
  • Even the best laid plans can and will sometimes unravel.

Watching the track and field events this past week was so exciting, but it really hit home the fact that you can train and prepare so well and work so hard, all to see it crumble in a split second. The women’s 4×100 relay baton exchange? Wow. The men relay baton exchange that resulted in a DQ. The men’s 5000m that resulted in some DQs. One misstep, push or lane shift can spell doom. But the journey is still worth taking, right?

  • Expect the unexpected. I’m trying to shift my expectations. Like with last week’s disastrous long run that I didn’t think I could finish. I tried to move on quickly instead of focusing on the negative.
  • I will lose a toenail. Blisters + blood blisters = black toenail. Thankful for purple nail polish!

Not to be Debbie Downer!

imgres.jpg

Because I would say this week’s training was solid. I’m thankful that although I didn’t hit some of my paces, consistency and getting out there to finish the mileage is going to help me on race day. We’ve had a LOT of rain, which cooled things off by just a few degrees, but honestly, it felt wonderful. I ended the week with 48 miles total. I finished Saturday with a 16-mile run, and I actually felt good. It was still hot (77 degrees)  and humid (98%) but I prepared better in the morning with a good breakfast, coffee, and a much better hydration plan. I packed my fuel belt with two water bottles and brought my hand-held filled with Skratch for the run. I also brought two water bottles for afterward, so that I wouldn’t crawl into the water cooler. A woman has to have SOME dignity, right?

IMG_2179

I ran 9:09 average pace–finishing in less time than my 15-miler last week!  This time, I ran with my bestie, Lesley, and coerced  persuaded her to start an hour earlier with me. The run went SO much better than last week–I was so relieved. It worked perfectly, and I even had a little bit of water left in my water bottles, but felt perfectly hydrated while running. AND, I didn’t even have any Gatorade at the store (nor did I climb into the cooler).

It was worth celebrating with a bacon, egg, cheese and potato taco. 🙂

IMG_2180

Tomorrow is the first day of school! I’ve been a little giddy getting them ready.

Needless to say, the kids didn’t appreciate MY enthusiasm about the first day of school.

I’m linking up with Holly and Tricia for the Weekly Wrap-up! Check out their cool blogs!

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, wife, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

9 thoughts on “NYC Marathon Training Week #9”

  1. Hooray for an excellent long run! That’s an impressive pace in the heat too. I agree, no training cycle is perfect. But I think your attitude it spot on! I hope you survive that first night of school paperwork frenzy. Thanks for linking, Sonia!

    Like

  2. I really love that quote! I missed a mid-week run (4 miles) due to my IT band during week 3 of training and I was convinced that I was doomed (so silly) because I was upset that I had already “deviated off of my plan”. After a day I came back to Earth and realized it was not a big deal.

    Congrats on your awesome long run this weekend!

    Like

  3. You did a great job, Sonia! It can be so frustrating to have injuries along the way of training, but I so agree with Kara’s quote! And that taco sounds amazing, well deserved!

    Like

  4. Some weeks are great, some weeks are awful; even for half training!

    I do hope those various aches & pains calm down for you, though!

    I have found, even though I’m pretty good about hydrating usually, I have to pay extra attention when it’s really hot & humid — which was basically all summer long.

    Like

  5. Reading about when you started your recipe sure does make you think twice about why we do what we do doesn’t it? But I think in the end, all of it make that sweet reward of crossing that finish line, that marathon finish line oh so sweet! Keep it up lady, you don’t have that far to go!

    Like

Leave a Reply

