Seedy Granola Bars

IMG_2156

Around 4 pm every day, I get hangry…and I start to raid the pantry. Yes, I could eat some fruit, but if I’m driving kids around, I like to have something less messy. I’ve been tinkering with some recipes for homemade granola bars and came up with this one. I like that this recipe has no artificial ingredients or sweeteners.

Enjoy!

Ingredients
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup raw almonds, walnuts or pecans, roughly chopped
  • 1 packed cup medjool dates, pitted
  • 2 tbsp pumpkin seeds (roasted or raw)
  • 2 tbsp sunflower seeds (roasted or raw)
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • Dash of vanilla
  • 1 tsp sea salt or to taste
Directions
  1. Process dates in a food processor until it forms almost a paste.
  2. Transfer dates to a bowl. Add the remaining ingredients and mix until thoroughly combined.
  3. Transfer to an 8×8 dish or other small pan lined with parchment paper.
  4. Using another piece of parchment paper, press down firmly to flatten the mixture into the pan evenly. Chill in the fridge until firm.
  5. Remove bars from dish and chop into even bars. Store in an airtight container in the fridge for a week.
Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

4 thoughts on “Seedy Granola Bars”

  1. How do you like the oats raw? I have a similar recipe that is baked. It has applesauce and golden syrup but I’ll try substituting the dates. We can do a tasting

    Like

Leave a Reply

