NYC Marathon Training Week #8

IMG_2165

Another week of training! I’m so glad this week is done! It’s been a challenging week of training, so I’m trying to focus on the positives:

  • I didn’t miss a day of training this week (ran 5 days).
  • I finished 45 miles this week.
  • I finished a 15-miler on Saturday, one of the toughest long runs I’ve had in a long time.
  • I didn’t have many aches and pains as usual (YAY!)

See? I have so much to be thankful for during this week of training! I honestly don’t know what to expect for the NYC Marathon on race day. The Olympics in Rio offered sunny, humid, and temps in the 70s for their start despite it being winter! But, even these tough weeks of training will help me prepare for whatever that day holds.

Saturday’s run was a 15 miler. I tried a new route and ran by myself to get the miles in early because of my schedule for the rest of the day. My run started off fine. The heat index was 89 at 5:30 am, and I had filled my water bottles and brought fuel for the run. I wasn’t going for a particular pace, but trying to get the distance. I felt good for most of the run. Halfway through, I stopped to take in this gorgeous sunrise.

IMG_2161

The last half of the run got more challenging, as did my route became hilly. The sun was out. It was even hotter. My feet felt heavy. My thoughts were starting to turn to the I can’t…I’ll just stop… It’s one of the challenges of running alone, and even during good runs, I battle with myself mentally. I knew I had to finish the run, so I just slowed my pace. I plodded along, but my water was running low. At mile 12, I completely ran out of water, and I couldn’t find many buildings open to get more water. I stopped at a park hoping for a water fountain. No luck. I was tempted to call for a rescue. At mile 13, I stopped to walk for a quarter mile. I used that time to collect my thoughts and help me get past the negatives. I figured no matter how slow I was running, I was going to finish 15. So, I started running again. As I ran the last couple of miles, I saw a rainbow behind me, and my face lit up. It’s hard not to smile when there’s a rainbow in the sky. Then I saw another one ahead of me. Then, a double rainbow! I kept staring at them instead of focusing on how hot and tired I was. I remembered this verse:

Genesis 9:14-15 “Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbowappears in the clouds, I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind.”

I finished the run! I was so ecstatic when my watch beeped 15.0!! I start and finish my Saturday runs from the local running store, Brazos Running Company, and they usually have a cooler with water or Gatorade at the store for the runners. I stumbled my way to the cooler, probably looking like a zombie and grabbed a cup. I filled one cup full of ice cold Gatorade. Then another. And…another. I polished off the rest of the Gatorade. 🙂 I was about to screw the top off and climb in the cooler….but there were people in the store and that would have been awkward.

How was your week? How do you get through a tough run?

I’m linking with Holly and Tricia for the Weekly Wrap-up!

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, wife, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

9 thoughts on “NYC Marathon Training Week #8”

  1. Oh, wow! Congrats on that 15 mi run! I would have wanted to climb in the cooler too. But then my sweat would have froze …. Here’s to another great week!

    Like

  2. That sounds like a tough 15 miles! Way to get through it. I hate when the water fountains don’t work when you need them 😦 I’m prepared for them to be off in the Winter but I kind of count on them in the Summer.

    Like

  3. I did a lot of soul searching during my hot, long, solo run. It is definitely a mental battle. You were rewarded with a stunning sunrise and two beautiful rainbows. I like the way you focused on the positives of your week! It’s wonderful the running store has cold drinks. I agree with Coco. I would have wanted to climb in the cooler. Thanks for linking, Sonia!

    Like

  4. Super job on your long run! Way to get it done in this heat. I’ve been a little slack with longer runs this summer! I’m sure I’ll pay for that come this fall but we got to get there first right!

    Like

Leave a Reply

