Tuesdays on the Run

Songs You Don’t Want to Hear

Tuesdays on the Run

Do you listen to music while you run? Favorite tunes that get you going?

For many years, I used to run with music, mostly to break up the monotony because on the treadmill, I had to have something to pass the time. When I switched to outside running only, I used to listen to music all the time because I trained alone, but I found my stride changed quite a bit according to the song’s beat.

For my first half marathon, the Irongirl Athleta Columbia Half Marathon, I listened to music during the race even though race organizers discouraged that sort of thing for safety. They even said racers should not listen to music because we would be too distracted by the camaraderie during the race with other women. Do you know how many women talked to me? Zero. I’m not blaming them. Because do you know how many women I tried to talk to? Zero. I’m not chatty during a race. And when I’m running solo and don’t know anyone else racing, as I’m huffing and puffing, I hardly have time to think more than “nice shirt,” “good job,” “hey, that was my water cup!”

But, when I started running regularly with a group (even though pace wise I ran by myself for most runs) I stopped listening to music. As I trained for my first marathon last year, I made playlists as inspiration for training to listen to when I wasn’t running. Mostly, I enjoy hip-hop and rap music for running and found a ton of songs to get me in the mood. Of course, I came across plenty of songs that despite their catchy beat may not have the most  inspirational lyrics during a MARATHON (LOL):

But, every summer, I come up with a new playlist. Here’s what I’ve been listening to lately. Enjoy! 🙂

I’m linking up for Tuesdays on the run with bloggers PattyErika, and Marcia. Check out their blogs if you have a chance!

What are your favorite tunes?

9 thoughts on “Songs You Don’t Want to Hear”

  1. I know what you mean about talking to other runners. I am one that will start a conversation when someone is running right beside me, because I feel awkward. If I’d just keep my mouth shut i’d probably have better finish times cus i’d have more energy..lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

