NYC Marathon Training Week #3 and 4

IMG_1892

I know it seems like I’ve fallen into the blog underworld, but I’m still alive! My last two weeks of marathon training have been a whirlwind of activity.

To celebrate July 4th, we had a party at our house and ended the night with fireworks outside at our traditional location for the past three years! We enjoyed sitting outside and listening to the community orchestra play patriotic tunes. The night was lovely!

Week #3 of marathon training was about 35 miles total. I had to cut one of my easy runs and do a long training run of 13 miles instead in preparation for our road trip to Colorado.

Week #4 of marathon training we spent in Colorado! We took a LONG car trip to Rocky Mountain National Park. It was a wonderful vacation! After experiencing the heat (heat index in the low 100s) and humidityΒ (90-100%) in Texas, being in weather with a high of 80 and 10% humidity was divine! Despite hydrating a lot, the elevation took a long time to get used to, so my runs were easy (more like fartlek style).

Saturday, we visited Palo Duro Canyon State Park in Texas. Wow. It was gorgeous. It’s the second largest canyon in the country–who knew?!? We drove through the park and watched the sunset.

IMG_1844

Sunday, we did a short hike around the rim of Capulin Volcano National Monument, a dormant cinder cone volcano in New Mexico.Β Β The elevation at the top was over 8,000 feet and a short hike around the rim and then down into the center left us tired but the views were amazing.

Once we got to Colorado, we were out and about enjoying the scenery and being very active. We drove all around the park, walked for miles, went horseback riding and white water rafting. We had a blast!

IMG_2048

If you’ve been reading my blog before, you know I struggle with running on vacation. Running on vacation = dreadmill and I hate that. I’ve logged enough treadmill miles in my lifetime to know that I loathe it…and then fears of the unknown usually keep me from venturing outside alone. And, in Colorado, rich with wildlife, I was intimidated by the thought of running INTO wildlife. Literally. BUT, I did it. I conquered that fear and I ran outside, come elk or coyote. lol.

I ran a fun run with the Estes Park Running Club and then ran around Lake Estes. The scenery was breathtaking. I really couldn’t stop snapping pictures on the run.

Total mileage this week: about 40 miles.

And that’s a wrap! How was your week?

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, wife, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

2 thoughts on “NYC Marathon Training Week #3 and 4”

  1. Wow, that scenery really looks stunning! I’m with you, my vacation runs have been treadmill runs recently. Great job conquering that fear and getting out there πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Looks like you had a great vacation! Those are some great pictures, the scenery sure is beautiful. Great job running on vacay… I struggle with that big time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

