I See Clouds

photo-1428592953211-077101b2021b
Photo credit: Reza Shayestehpour

I’ve looked at clouds from both sides now,
from up and down, and still somehow
it’s cloud illusions I recall.
I really don’t know clouds at all.

–Joni Mitchell

Today’s Tuesdays on the Run topic is my ideal race conditions. Do you have a best case scenario? Oddly, mine is cloudy and rainy days. I’ve had some of my PRs on the wettest and windiest days of all things. I don’t seek out rain for sure. When I get up for a race and the rain is pouring, there is nothing I dread more than that first chill of rain hitting my skin and then standing around in wet clothes waiting for the start. Once I get started running, it really doesn’t bother me too much. I dodge the largest puddles, even though I’m completely drenched by that point, and curse that flood of water into the already wet shoes, oh! no bueno!

My first marathon was a cold (50 degrees) rainy and windy day.

My 10-mile PR was cloudy and drizzling.

My half marathon PR was in the remnants of Hurricane Patricia.

Go figure?!?!

If it’s not raining, it has to be in the 50s for me to be comfortable. Anything warmer than that seems to take a toll on me, even though it’s wonderful spectating weather. Maybe it’s the black hair that attracts heat? I need to figure out a better strategy for that because in Texas, chances are pretty darn good it’s going to be warm and sunny. So, I’m going to experiment…how would I look as a blonde? Not like Beyonce…I know.

So rainy days are my ideal, so I take it as a plus. Race day and rain=score!

IMG_0428

What’s your ideal race day weather? 

I’m linking up with bloggers ErikaMarcia and Patty for Tuesdays on the Run! Check out their blogs! 

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

7 thoughts on “I See Clouds”

  1. I’m so with you on overcast. It’s wonderful for running. I haven’t had too many rainy long races. Just a couple come to mind and those were full on thunderstorms with torrential rain. Not ideal.

    Like

  2. Oh no, rain is not at all my ideal. Cool, yes, but I’m good up to about 60. Sadly my last half started warmer than that.

    I don’t like wind, but I’ll take wind over heat any day.

    I’ve never had any desire to be a blonde. I was a redhead for a while, though!

    Like

  3. When I ran the Broad Street 10 Miler in the rain, it was miserable waiting to start and waiting to get out of there, but during the race the rain didn’t bother me at all! I’d still prefer racing in drier weather, lol!

    Like

  4. I do like cloudy or overcast weather for running 🙂 Not a fan of the rain but you’re right, my current half marathon PR and 5k PR were set in rainy races and my previous 10k PR was also a rainy race. I think I may be motivated by trying to get out of the rain as quickly as possible!

    Like

Leave a Reply

