Running on Empty…

The end of the school year is quickly approaching, as is the theoretical “end” of every extra-curricular activity the kids do, so it’s been fun cheering on the kiddos in all that they do, but it’s made the days busier than normal as well.

At the beginning of the week, I was feeling off and tired. Really tired. So much so, that in the middle of the week, I had to just take a break after work and nap. I don’t nap, so it was really odd for me. I went to bed early and slept like Rumplestiltskin. And after that, I felt so much better. Guess I was running on empty? But, it reminded me the importance of sleep for recovery. I can foam roll and hydrate until the sun goes down, but sleep, there’s nothing better.

My workouts were good. I took off Monday because of early morning thunder storms in the area, but still managed to run about 30 miles and bike another 18.

Saturday, I had a long run of 10 miles early in the morning, and then ran the Aggie Mile and 5K to benefit the Texas Running Foundation that benefits young runners. My oldest wanted to run the mile and I stuck with the 5K. It was on the Cross Country course at Texas A&M University, which is nestled behind some equestrian fields and stables. So pretty! I’ve never run on a cross country course, and with a lot of recent rain, it was wet and muddy, but not as bad as I had imagined. It was in the low 70s and sunny by the time we started, and pretty humid, so I had no hopes of running a PR. The 5K was nowhere close to my fastest time, but it was a scenic looped route behind the horse pasture, so it was pretty. I was happy to get it done and have my son cheer me on. The fastest 40 runners among high schoolers run in the Top 40 as the last event. Smokin! They were posting 4:20s!! Ah, to be young again. I did get first place AG, which was a total surprise.

IMG_1374

IMG_1375 IMG_1377 IMG_1368

I got some fun packages this week. I got my first Motivate wrap when I ordered some other stuff. You knew I just had to get this one, right?

I’d heard and read so many good things about Tailwind, I just had to try it myself. I bought a variety pack to try, and used half a of the Mandarin Orange pack for my long run. I liked that it’s hydration and nutrition combined. It tasted like orange, but not overly sweet, which I liked. It completely dissolved in my water bottle, and it didn’t bother my stomach. I’m excited to try all the flavors! I have yet to figure out how I can use it alone for a marathon when I have two 12 oz water bottles on my fuel belt and there’s 200 calories in one pack. Any suggestions?

IMG_1358So, that’s my week! How was yours?

I’m linking with Holly and Tricia for the Weekly Wrap-up. Thanks for hosting Tricia and Holly!

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

20 thoughts on “Running on Empty…”

  1. Congrats on the AG place! I love a scenic place to run like that where you wouldn’t normally go 🙂
    I want to try Tailwind too, it is new to me.
    The motivate wraps are my favorite!

    Like

  2. Congrats on the AG win!

    Hey, I’m a Tailwind Trailblazer…huge fan of the stuff. I bought one of their 24 ounce bottles and I slipped a bottle band around it. That’s how I carry my fuel. One pack per hour. My friend Kristina uses an amphipod, which holds 20 ounces of water. If you want to use your fuel belt, you’ll have to dissolve half a pack in each bottle. The nice thing is that when you race, you can go to the water table and they’ll refill your bottles for you. Feel free to contact me privately if you have any questions about Tailwind.

    Like

  3. You just reminded me that I won a large package of Tailwind (not the individual packs) and I want to try it this summer! Congratulations on winning your AG. I know your son was proud of his mom. I was tired this week and wish I had taken a nap one day. It would have probably done me a world of good. Thanks for linking with us Sonia.

    Like

  4. That 5k looks beautiful and congrats on that fist place age group finish! I’ve never done a cross country race either and it’s impressive that you placed on your first one 🙂

    Like

  5. Congrats on your AG award! Sounds like a very pretty course that I’d like. I love scenic routes like that. I also love the “find joy in the journey” bracelet. I might need to try Tailwind. I’ve also heard great things about it.

    Like

  6. Congrats on your race and it must be awesome to win an age group award! I bet the route was so scenic and your son looks happy. I’ve heard great things about Tailwind but never tried it…I’m getting tired of Clif Shotbloks and thinking about trying something new this next training cycle…

    Like

  7. Congrats on an AG award! Awesome!

    I was going to say ask Wendy about the Tailwind but I see she’s already answered. 🙂

    I never get much more than 8 hrs of sleep — if that — even if I’m really tired — I’m just not wired that way. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

