What a Wonderful World

I see skies of blue and clouds of white
The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night
And I think to myself what a wonderful world.

–Louis Armstrong, “What a Wonderful World”

IMG_1324

Isn’t it beautiful? The sun is rising earlier, so the dark o-thirty runs are not so dark anymore. Wonderful because I get to enjoy the sunrise. My Saturday 10-mile run was a chance to practice running solo, something I don’t normally get to do. Most of my usual running buddies were away or had other morning running plans for various reasons, so it was a great chance to just run by myself. No tunes. No conversation (unless you count me cheering myself on to not slow down).  I was thankful for that run, to get to enjoy God’s creation, to practice my mental game, and to enjoy the road. It was quiet and peaceful, and when I was done, I felt good.

IMG_1348

There were no races for me this weekend, and running is going well. Like I mentioned in other posts, I’m planking, doing yoga, and doing plyometrics, in addition to an ITB routine to keep things loose. Could I do more? Probably, but with the end of the school year quickly approaching, it was a busy weekend of mama cheerleading. We had some testing for one kiddo and a piano recital for another. Both boys did great!

This week, I was busier with the blog than usual. Earlier this month, I had my 5-month blogiversary. 🙂 I’m really enjoying having a creative outlet for writing because my job is pretty technical writing and editing. AND, this week, I became an ambassador for Sweat Pink and Fit Mom Strong Mom. See my new blog badges?? I’m very excited and honored to be part of both of these communities to connect, learn, and grow more as a blogger and runner. It was a big step for me just to apply because in so many ways I feel like I’m nothing new and nothing special to add to the blog world. Just starting my blog was a HUGE mental hurdle for me. It was overwhelming and intimidating in so many ways to start a blog, but I’ve been really encouraged my connecting with so many people online through the link-ups (which have been so uplifting, informative, and entertaining). It’s encouraging to see so many other women (and men) sharing their stories. Thanks everyone for reading my little ol’ blog!

IMG_1309

This week, I ran 28 miles of sweaty awesomeness. Paces are ok, not great, but it’s natural to slow down a bit at this time of year because of the humidity. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it! The good news is that with all this “heat acclimation training,” once the weather turns cooler in the fall, my paces should drop a pretty decent amount–at least they did last year.  I took ol’ Bessy the bike on an 18-mile bike ride this week. She’s heavy and her brakes are squeaky, but she’s proving to be able to handle the rides. But, I love the scenery on my rides!

IMG_1314

I got to enjoy some of the “fruits” of our little garden. I made a delicious caprese salad with our basil (tomatoes aren’t even close to coming in yet) and made some rosemary focaccia with our rosemary. It’s been forever since I’ve made both of these, and with summer weather here, it felt like I needed to make these. Some good olive oil for dipping, prosciutto, and a good glass of wine. YUM! I love it when I make something the kids like, and they’re all chime in, “Wow, you should open your own restaurant!” “This is delicious!” “You’re the best!” as they noisily slurp up each bite. When I make something they don’t like, they’re:

IMG_0190

 

So, that’s it for me. My new Adidas are working for me fine. I still have twinges of foot pain, but I invested in some Oofos, and I think the extra arch support they provide may be helping. Maybe it’s all in my head.

IMG_1347

How was your week?

I’m linking with the lovely bloggers Holly and Tricia for the Weekly Wrap-up link-up. Check out their blogs and the others! Thanks for hosting ladies!

Happy Running!

 

 

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

15 thoughts on “What a Wonderful World”

  1. That meal sounds amazing. I love simple recipes in the summer because I don’t want any extra heat added to the kitchen. I love caprese salad and adding prosciutto sounds wonderful.

    Like

  2. I love that the days are so long. Sunrise is about 6:15 here and it goes down around 9 p.m. So, I can run in daylight, morning or evening. Its my favorite time of the year.
    Hope your foot niggle goes away. Boo.

    Like

  3. What a pretty sunrise! I love my peaceful, solo, early morning runs. It’s a bonus to get to see the sunrise on most days. As a southerner, I definitely understand how humidity affects pace. I’d like to try Oofas. I’ve heard nothing but good things about them. I have high arches and am having some pain on the outside of one foot. Thanks for linking with us Sonia.

    Like

  4. Ahh the solo long run, I think it is great to do this every once in awhile. It teaches us to be okay with ourself, something a lot of people are not. Congratulations fellow Sweat Pink sister! It’s a great community!

    Like

  5. I’m loving the daylight at 5:30. It’s been nice on my early morning runs before school. I can’t go without music on a long run. I do like to run solo on most runs though. It’s my time for me. Congrats on your latest ambassadorships!

    Like

Leave a Reply

