5 Reasons I’m Doing Plyo

Happy Friday! The heat is on! Yup, right now my training is all about that heat, ’bout that heat, it’s trouble. Here in Texas, summer lasts from April to November. Good news: Cute singlets. Bad news: Chafing.

theriouthly

And when it’s most humid outside at 5 am when I workout, it’s really easy to work hard and produce lackluster results. Like yesterday’s tempo run. Was I actually moving..I don’t know. lol Any run is a good run…I say…most of the time. Seriously, though, I’m trying glean some good things from the heat.

That’s why I’m planning to break up the summertime madness with some different things like hills and plyometrics.

5 Reasons I’m Doing Plyometrics

I love being able to run outside all year here in Texas– I work up a good sweat without really trying. But, with the dog days of summer here, it can be challenging not to get burned out (literally and figuratively) with running. I mentioned that after the Diva Half Marathon last month, I don’t have anything immediate to train for until I start training for the NYC Marathon in November, so until then plyometrics are a great way to break up the regular routine.

It’s no secret that plyo is excellent strength training without the dumbbells. I mentioned last week I hate the gym–being outside just gives me a high. Staring a metal machines, not so much. But I know that I need to do all kinds of strength work (not just planks!) and work on some weaknesses. Strength training is also great for becoming a more efficient runner, like this study showed.

Stronger body will (hopefully) lead to less injuries. Strength workouts are filled with plyometrics to help keep injuries away. And when training for a marathon, I’m going to need that, especially if I want to keep this tendonitis at bay.

More strength = faster speed. I like to run fast, no lie. Given any distance, I want to run it as fast as possible…for me, that might be not so fast compared to others, but it would be nice to get faster. Plyometrics can help me with that too.

Plyometrics get my heart really, REALLY pumping…and usually get me chuckling at my poor form (something I’m trying to work on)…and dare I say, fun?? And I could use a little humor at 5 am, right? It’s best to do them after a warmup, and I don’t need to do a lot of reps, so after I run intervals or hills (#$%$@$#$@), I do a short set of plyometrics for about 10 minutes.

Here’s my routine:

  • Alternating lunge jumps
  • Squat jumps
  • Single-leg hops, in place, side to side, and front to back
  • Skip hops
  • Bounds
  • Mountain climbers
  • Burpees

I can honestly say that burpees are not fun.

 

I’m linking up with the DC Trifecta bloggers MarCourtney and Cynthia  for the Friday Five linkup:

DC-Trifecta-Friday-Five-linkup

and linking up with Angela at HappyFitMama.com for High Five Friday.

High-5-Friday-Button-happyfitmama.com_-300x300

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

13 thoughts on “5 Reasons I’m Doing Plyo”

  1. Plyometrics are a great addition to any strength routine. There’s a lot of research coming out now that it helps cognitively as well. Bursts of intensity is good for the brain, and so is regularly changing up the routine. Adding plyo is a great way to do that. Go you!!

    Like

  2. I love doing Plyo’s! I had to back off of them recently because of a knot in my back that wasn’t too happy with all the jumping. Thanks for linking up to High 5 Friday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

