Grateful

IMG_1251

This week, for my weekly wrap-up, I felt grateful. I’m grateful that I can (still) run– that injuries seem to be kept at bay for now and that I can run outside. Like I mentioned in my last post, I don’t like the gym. The weather was wonderful in the mornings for a run. Low humidity, temps in the 50s and low 60s, sunny and gorgeous during the day. Just made my mood that much brighter. I even wore my Runner Girl necklace and my Women Rock pendant to celebrate being able to run this week.

So, I took to planking outside when I could.
IMG_1282

I did a total of 40 miles of running this week, and I did a 21-mile bike ride. I wanted to give my foot a little break and try cycling to do some cross training. It was my first bike ride on the streets out here. With my Walmart “special” cycle, it was challenging, and it was terrifying at times (everyone here seems to drive a very large pickup truck or SUV) but so much fun and very exhilarating. I felt great afterward.

If you read my last post, I did hills last week instead of intervals. I’m learning to appreciate them if not like them. They serve me well, and NYC has hills, so I need to learn to get over them, literally and figuratively. 🙂 I’ll be doing hills again for a couple more weeks. Can’t you hear the enthusiasm???

On Saturday, my little running group, the Brazos Valley Runegades, wore our new running singlets that I had bought with my run bestie at the Diva Expo. Aren’t they cute?

IMG_1287

Saturday’s 10-mile run was so pretty. For the first time, the sun was up early in our run and I had to capture the sunrise. Gorgeous!!  IMG_1288

Sweaty and smiling, I finished the 10 mile run at an average 8:44 pace.

IMG_1289

In the afternoon, our group met over tacos and margaritas to talk about our goals for the rest of the year now that our Spring races are over. We made it a “Declare It Day” to say them out loud and share them so we can hold each other accountable, but also hold ourselves accountable.

I’ve got a busy fall planned with the NYC marathon and some half marathons before that, so I want to stay consistent, especially in the summer.

IMG_1294

I finished the day with a 2 mile walk with the family and today had a wonderful Mother’s Day with the family. It was relaxing.

I’m joining Holly and Tricia for the Weekly Wrap-up linkup. Thanks for hosting ladies!

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

9 thoughts on “Grateful”

  1. Wow, you have been getting in so much fitness. I think its good to give your feet a break a bit before marathon training. When are you starting ? What plan are you going to use ?

    I love going up hills but hate coming down.

    Like

  2. I appreciate hills when I train on them not so much for when I don’t. They can really put a damper on your time if you are not use to running them.
    I could do more but sometimes I’m just lazy.
    I love yall’s shirts and how great to have a declare it day! What is on your radar for the fall besides NYC?

    Like

  3. I LOVE the idea of a Declare It Day! That’s an awesome pace for a 10 mile run! Those race singlets are very cute you bought at Divas. I’ll agree with feeling grateful about running. I don’t want to ever take it for granted again. I’ll starting training for Chicago in the summer–so I’ll get a pass on hill training this time. Thanks for linking with us Sonia.

    Like

Leave a Reply

