Weekly Wrap-up

Oh, the weather outside…

235138-2 copy

Oh my! It’s warm outside. This week I felt like it was summer. When you wake up at 4 am and it’s already 72 degrees with 85% humidity, it’s going to be a doozy of a run. Welcome to Texas summer running…did I mention it’s not summer yet?

Last week, I had a bit of recovery after the Diva race. My workouts are now about doing some more strength and core workouts and building back some mileage. I ran mostly easy runs, and one hard 3 mile fartlek on Thursday, which led to this at about 4 pm that day.

sleeping

My Saturday run was postponed until Sunday because of a nasty string of thunderstorms that moved through the area right when we would be starting our run.

You may remember about a month ago that I got the new Saucony Kinvara 7 as a speed shoe. There was a lot to like with their light weight and roomier toe box than previous Sauconys. I was using them for speed workouts, so I wasn’t putting that much mileage on them. Around the same time, my little niggly complaints about my tight plantar fascia turned into tendonitis. I couldn’t help but think that the two were linked. There’s no scientific proof, of course. Could it be all in my head? Maybe. I haven’t had the best luck with Sauconys since I turned 40 when the last pair of Sauconys I ran in caused me tendonitis. I was hoping it was the particular model of shoe. This time, the Kinvara’s lower heel-toe drop may be contributing something not so friendly to my running. Boo! I took them back to my local running store, and I got a new pair of Adidas Energy Boost 3. I was due for a pair anyway.

IMG_1205

I’m linking with Holly and Tricia for the Weekly Wrap-up!

15 thoughts on “Oh, the weather outside…”

  1. I feel you on southern summers and insane humidity. We always seem to skip spring here in Dixie. Years ago, a pair of lower drop shoes almost crippled me with Achilles tendonitis and I continued to run in them not connecting the dots. I learned that lesson the hard way. Kudos for taking them back and trying something different. Thanks for linking with us Sonia.

    Like

  2. I agree about the weather….I can’t wait for permanent springtime! Hopefully those Adidas shoes will do the trick. It’s always hard to find the perfect shoe.

    Like

  3. Humidity sucks! I wish I could say I didn’t know what it was like but unfortunately I do!
    Is there ever any scientific proof for us runners when niggles pop up with different shoes? I struggle with this. I am always thinking about my shoes. I hope you figure it out but I do like your new ones! Thank for joining us in the Weekly Wrap!

    Like

  4. lol… I love that humidity photo! Our weather has taken a step away from Summer and it’s been cool and rainy for a couple days. I’m hoping we get nicer weather back soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

