Dreams with Deadlines

4370967

This week’s Tuesdays on the Run post is about progress on 2016 goals. Sometimes, setting goals is so hard for me. I set a goal and then think, how dare I actually set that goal! That’s way too unrealistic. Goals are more like dreams with deadlines, right? But, then sometimes, those deadlines pass, and I’m like a deflated balloon.

This year, I really had a hard time nailing down some goals because I wasn’t sure what the year would look like after two pretty much back to back marathons and a tumultuous start resetting my training on my own. So far, I’ve been doing pretty good.

  • Continue to be consistent with running: Done. I’ve consistently run 30+ miles every week since the beginning of the year. The real goal will be to actually run while I’m on vacation this year. I hardly ever do that.

just-keep-running-dory

  • New races and PRs: New races. Done. I’ve registered for NYC Marathon, the Nutrabolt Half, which is 6 days before the half marathon in Marathon, TX (one of the 5 halfs on my bucket list)–I hope that’s not too ambitious!! PRs…I did set a new PR in the 5K of 21:54, so that was nice surprise. I didn’t beat any other PRs, which although it was admittedly disappointing, I had an ambitious race schedule every 2 weeks after finishing the Houston Marathon, so it was only natural that I wouldn’t make each race my best. I was TIRED!
  • Get a BQ: I’d like to beat my marathon PR of 3:48 to get a BQ and actually run the marathon. I’m not sure at all if I can shave the time needed (5 minutes) to get the not only the qualifying time but the minimum time to be able to register. 5 minutes feels like a lot. a LOT. This year was the first time I watched the Boston Marathon, normally, I just read about it afterward. Watching the race yesterday, and Atseda Baysa make her late kick in the final miles to win the marathon, was jaw-dropping. She looked so strong–after the killer hills. Wow. Even the announcers were saying it was almost unheard of.

25c49de46c32644794cd4b4d301af0ef2cbb050d303c487476fc8ed8d3886882

  • Get back to eating better: I definitely have my ups and downs with this, but more ups than downs. 🙂 Like, I’m not going to eat all the tacos. I stop at three. Progress.

 

One more goal I’d like to add is to do strength training and add some biking. Hubby says I need a better bike, tho. I’m like, nah. I’m good. 🙂

Banana seat bike

How are you doing with your goals?

This Tuesdays on the Run linkup is hosted by PattyErika, and Marcia. Happy Tuesday!

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, wife, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

21 thoughts on “Dreams with Deadlines”

  1. Nice bike! 😉 Goals should be a little scary, but if they don’t get you excited, then they are a waste of time. I’m glad we get to run all the miles and eat all (three) tacos together. 😉

    Like

  2. You’ve got some great goals, getting a BQ would be so awesome! You’re super close. And congrats on your 5K PR!

    Like

  3. I would say something deep and meaningful, but now I’m hungry for tacos. 😉
    Great to see you’re making progress. El husbando is trying to get me to go biking with him (something we used to do a lot of many, many years ago), but I specifically remember my bum hurting from the seat. How much has bie seat padding technology progressed in, um, 20 years? Exactly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

