The Long Run

IMG_1037

This week was another week of good workouts. I have a little less than two weeks to go to the Diva Half in Galveston, my last spring race. I haven’t signed up for anything after that because there’s not many halfs or 10 milers held after April here–I’m assuming because of the heat. That’s fine though, because I’m looking for some mileage building before starting marathon training in June.

  • Monday: Easy 5 run
  • Tuesday: Mile intervals
  • Wednesday: Off
  • Thursday: 7 mile tempo
  • Friday: Easy 5 run
  • Saturday: 14 miles

Total 39.2 miles this week.

Every day after our workouts, we’ve been doing some core workouts or the Myrtle IT routine to help strengthen our weak legs, hips, and core. It’s helping that I have three other people doing the workout with me because doing exercises at home is not my strength. Sometimes, I will remember. Sometimes, there’s other things to do at home. Downward dog on the carpet, turns into yikes, I need to vacuum. Mountain climbers on the tile floor becomes ugh, get the mop out again, there’s another sticky spot. Getting my resistance bands takes me past the laundry room and I can feel the mountain of laundry multiplying…But, it’s good to be held accountable, and when we can fit it in, so this week has been good.

I finally got my new shoes that I ordered: Saucony Kinvara 7. I used to run exclusively in Saucony until I started having tendonitis in my foot with several models. I tried the Adidas Energy Boost and then was afraid to run again in Saucony.

I wanted to try them again to rotate through the Brooks Launch, Adidas Energy Boost, and Saucony for workouts to strengthen my feet and get some variety. The new model has Everun in the heel, which supposedly adds comfort. They’re very light and comfortable, and the toe box is bigger than previous Saucony models, which I need. I tried them on my speed workouts this week and enjoyed them. I’m  not used to such a low heel-toe drop as with other shoes, so hopefully, I can get used to that.

IMG_1032

Saturday’s run was really good with my run bestie. We had planned a new 14 mile route only because we both tacking on mileage to our 12 mile at the end. We had it all mapped out to go in a slightly different direction at the beginning, and because I’m on auto-pilot, we did the same start. We made up for it in the middle and tacked on mileage there rather than at the end. Toward the end of the run, we saw a beautiful sunrise with a pink sky–this picture does no justice.

IMG_1033

After our 14 miles when we really pushed the pace at the end, my PF was hurting.  I wore this for the rest of the day and soaked my feet in epsom salt (I haven’t been compensated for this post and all opinions are mine). This brace seems to help when I wear it at night.

IMG_1007

And, of course, my run finished with some breakfast tacos. This one had egg, bacon, avocado, potatoes, and tomatillo sauce. I even got some for the kids to bring home.

IMG_1038

That’s my week! I’m joining the linkup with blog hostesses Holly and Tricia. Thank you ladies!

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

15 thoughts on “The Long Run”

  1. I’m not sure I ever would’ve become a runner if I still lived in TX! Well, probably I would’ve, but I’d be spending my time on my TM in the summer rather than winter/spring like I do up here.

    I hate the autopilot thing! Ugh, I do that all the time but then I have a few years on you. That’s my excuse & I’m sticking to it!

    Like

  2. I’m also running my last scheduled half this weekend. They become scarce around here because of the heat. I’ll be in limbo until I decide what Fall marathon I’m going to tackle. Which one will you be doing? The taco looks like the perfect post long training run treat. Good look at Diva’s! Thanks for linking with us Sonia.

    Like

  3. Yup at the end of the month I’ll have run all the half’s Im signed up to do the first half of the year anyway. I’m already sad and I just don’t want to start over training again. I know that sounds crazy. Marathon training in the hot summer months is beyond words but come November in NYC you’ll be rewarded for it all!! Thanks for linking up with us!

    Like

  4. Great week! That breakfast taco looks so yummy. In the summertime, i always crave an egg burrito with black beans and salsa after a long run. I hope the PF feels better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

