5 Texas Halfs I Want to Run

There’s so many races to choose from, so it’s hard to narrow things down. I’m fairly new to Texas, being here just over a year and a half, so I haven’t gotten the chance to see and explore as many places as I would like, so what better way to revisit a favorite place or see a new one than to sign up for race?? These are a few of my bucket list halfs.
race_1002_photo_15762204
Alamo 13.1 in San Antonio
A race through historic San Antonio and the Alamo would be awesome. The race medals have little canons. I wanted to run this one badly this year, but it didn’t work out. They also have a Krispy Kreme Doughnut Dash 5K and 10K. Yes, I said donuts. Done.
3M Half, Austin
Austin’s a cool quirky city. Period. AND, this is the course elevation chart for the race. PR, anyone?
balloons_flying_-_two_up_close_by_priscilla_killion(2)
Run a race with hundreds of hot air balloons launched in the sky? Um, yea! This race coincides with the ballon launch on one day of the festival and would be a gorgeous way to start the race and the day!
Cowtown Half, Fort Worth
This running festival offers distances from 5K to the marathon. It’s a fun race in Fort Worth, home of the old stockyards and meat packing plants now turned into entertainment and shopping.
Did you know that Tyler is THE rose capital of the country?? I know! Most of the roses shipped all over the country come from Tyler. This race happens during the annual Rose Festival complete with a queen. The course is notoriously hilly and…challenging…so I’ll stick with the half.
3
(Half) Marathon to Marathon, Marathon
In a tiny, teeny town in West Texas called Marathon, there’s a little (less than 500 runners) marathon (and a half). With a gradual downhill course, the race is a BQ-qualifier. I’ve never run in the desert, and this scenery is breathtaking. The race fees pay for public services like the school, library and fire department.
Any of these races sound appealing? Have any local bucket list races you’d like to run? 
Linking up with MarCourtney and Cynthia and Jill. Thanks for hosting, ladies!
Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

25 thoughts on “5 Texas Halfs I Want to Run”

    1. Cool! I’ve run a race in Ft. Worth last year on the river trail which was pretty, but the race was not well run, so I want to try another one. Maybe we could meet someday! I didn’t realize you’re in TX too!

      Like

  1. I have never been to Texas, not sure I could stand the heat. You are lucky to have a great choice of races though.

    Like

  2. I love how there are so many different race themes to choose from! Looking forward to trying the Marathon to Marathon! Whoop!

    Like

  3. I always wanted to visit Tyler when we lived in Austin, but we never made it there.

    I did the Livestrong Half (back when Lance was still associated with it) as my second half — it was actually meant to be my first! And yes, it actually was a PR at the time. 20 minutes faster than that first one.

    I’ve actually gone on to do hillier halfs, but boy, I have this picture of me walking up that hill at mile 11 . . .

    Like

  4. I hope you get to run them all! They all look cool. A friend of mine’s son moved out to Austin with his heavy metal band. I’d love to go there someday. I’ve only raced once in Texas, it was RnR Half in Dallas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

