Happy Sweet Tooth!

Happy Easter!

peeps

Last week’s running was solid, with occasional sweet tooth satisfaction. 🙂 The kids have outgrown Easter baskets and egg hunts, so thankfully, I was spared the gluttony that followed Valentine’s Day. Last week, a friend left a box of Peeps in our mailbox to advertise an egg hunt. The college-age me would have torn into those bad boys before there beady little stares would have born holes into my conscience. I gave them to the kids, but there were a couple of left over because 8 divided into 3 kids doesn’t work out evenly. Bummer. I ate them for the kids. You know, so they wouldn’t argue…I was only thinking of them.

Monday, I went grocery shopping, and these were on sale 2/$4. So, in that case, I COULDN’T just buy one box. The savings wouldn’t be nearly as good. I got them for the kids, you know, for after school snacks? Always thinking of them. Don’t judge.

IMG_1022

And then a couple of aisles over, feeling remorse about the maple cremes that made it into the cart, I bought these which were also on sale.

IMG_1023

I used to buy the regular Luna bars all the time. These protein bars are pretty tasty, not what I was expecting in terms of consistency, but they do help fight the post-dinner hunger when I’m running around late picking kids up from sports. I tried the chocolate chip cookie dough flavor and chocolate mint flavor.

I’m always on the lookout for healthy snacks to make at home. If I have the time, I try not to buy store bought bars like Luna and make homemade versions instead. I read about this Giddy Up Bar recipe on Women’s Running online. It’s from the Run Fast East Flow cookbook due out this April by Elise Kopecky and elite runner Shalane Flanagan, who most recently qualified for the Olympic team for the marathon. Every recipe that Kopecky creates is tested by Flanagan. This was really yummy.

IMG_1006

This recipe below is slightly adapted from the original. I subbed sun butter for the almond butter. I didn’t add salt or 2 tbsp. ground coffee beans.

Giddy Up Energy Bars

Adapted from Elise Kopecky and Run Fast East Slow

Makes 16 small bars

12 large Medjool dates, pitted
1 cup dried unsweetened cherries or dried cranberries
1 cup raw chopped walnuts or pecans
1/2 cup finely shredded unsweetened dried coconut
1/4 cup unsalted sunbutter
1 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 tsp. fine sea salt

Combine all ingredients in a food processor. Pulse a few times to chop, and then process on high speed for 1 minute, stopping once or twice to scrape down the sides of the bowl and beneath the blade with a spatula. Process until ingredients are finely chopped and blended together. Empty the contents of the food processor into a square pan (mine was 8×8) and top with a sheet of parchment paper. Press the ingredients with the bottom of a flat measuring cup to form an even layer. Using a sharp knife, cut the square in half, and then cut crosswise to form 16 bars, each about 4 inches long and 1 inch wide. Arrange the bars between sheets of parchment paper in an airtight container or wrap individually in plastic wrap. These bars will stay fresh in the fridge for up to 3 weeks or in the freezer for up to 3 months.
Tuesday, I had a nice day of mile intervals, and I did them a little speedier than my half marathon goal pace. It felt great to get some speed back since I’ve been doing my past intervals at a conservative speed to work on pace. Thursday, a huge thunderstorm blew through so the tempo run was cancelled. Friday, my friend led us on the gauntlet plank challenge. Yowza! I really need to improve my plank form. The first few exercises were not hard, but they got a lot harder as we went. But, I really needed it. Core work is still weak! Saturday was another long run of 12 at a great pace. Total of 30+ miles this week. Four more weeks to Diva Half!

This week, I tried an experiment with breakfasts in making breakfast tacos everyday. I had some grilled veggies from earlier in the week and made eggs, some cheese added salsa, fresh spinach, and voila! It was delicious, filling, and nutritious. More importantly, having a savory breakfast seemed to help with the constant cravings I usually battle in the morning when I have sweet breakfasts like oatmeal.

tacos

 

And then, earlier in the week, my daughter said she loves my homemade cookies and asked me to make some. How could I say no? So, Friday, I made these coconut macaroons from Once Upon a Chef. I didn’t dip them in dark chocolate because…I didn’t want to go overboard…haha. Seriously, though, I love all things coconut, but I’m not a fan of chocolate and coconut nearly as much. These were just fine as they were. And two days later, every single one was gone.

IMG_1013

And then, on Sunday, I saw my picture in a local newspaper insert highlighting local events in the area, like the Girls Want to Have Fun 5K I ran last month.

IMG_1020

Did you let the Easter goodies get the best of you?

I’m linking up with blog hostesses Holly from HoHo Runs and Tricia at MissSippiPiddlin for the weekly wrap-up and with  Deborah and Sarah for Meatless Monday.

Happy Running!

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, wife, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

11 thoughts on “Happy Sweet Tooth!”

  1. I don’t seem to have good luck making energy bars. The always fall apart or are way too heavy and sit in my stomach. I bought very little Easter candy. ONE chocolate bunny for each child. That’s it !

    Like

    1. These stay together (and survived a trip in a baggie in my purse) and aren’t too heavy (and my tummy is sensitive). Good for you for showing restraint. I didn’t buy any Easter candy because we’re still working through Valentine’s!!

      Like

  2. Thanks for sharing the energy bar recipe! As long as I don’t buy Easter candy, I’m safe. I used to really like the Robin eggs.

    Like

  3. I don’t cook with dates either but this sure makes me want to try! It does look amazing and you have been cooking up a storm! I let my sweet tooth get the best of my over Easter. #sorrynotsorry I don’t have amazing desserts often and well I had them 3 times. Don’t judge! 🙂 Now I’m trying my best to up my game to work them off but at the moment they were so worth it! Thanks Sonia for linking up with us in the Weekly Wrap!

    Like

  4. You’re so selfless for your kids with those Peeps 😉 These are the sacrifices you make as a mom. I actually avoided the Easter candy altogether…. until I was at the drugstore on Monday and caved to some 50% off jelly beans.

    Like

  5. I like the regular Luna bars. But, although very tasty, the Protein ones are “extra chewy” and dense. Our kids have sadly outgrown Easter baskets too so I didn’t have candy sitting around. I wouldn’t have minded an Almond Joy mini or three. How cool you found your picture in the paper. Thanks for linking with us Sonia.

    Like

Leave a Reply

