Happy Spring!

It’s the first day of Spring. Here in Texas, the roadsides are starting to bloom in a blanket of blue and red with blue bonnet and Indian paintbrush, two beautiful wildflowers. It’s gorgeous and one of my favorite times of the year.
IMG_0978
The weather, on the other hand, has been a little erratic. The mornings were pretty humid and during the day it was hot during the week (in the high 80s). When it’s humid, I always underestimate the extra effort in training. In many ways, it was starting to feel like summer. But by Saturday, it had cooled to the high 40s, and my run was windy with 20 mph gusts. That was hard to run through!
Training this week went well. 5 weeks to go until the Diva Half in Galveston! This race is just going to be a fun one, so my training has been just to maintain my current fitness and not go too hard on speed work. Our little group has doubled in size! Two more of my friends have joined my training group after leaving our former running club. It’s encouraging to have anybody to run with, and knowing that there are people who love to run as much as me.

 

For the past couple of weeks, I’ve made frittatas with whatever greens I have on hand. I made this one with a whole bunch of chopped red swiss chard and shallots. Best part was that it only used one dish. 🙂 I beat six eggs together with salt and pepper. I sautéed the swiss chard and shallot in the skillet and added some thyme. I added the swiss chard and shallot to the eggs and mixed together, then wiped the skillet clean. I added a tablespoon of olive oil and poured the egg mixture back in the skillet. I baked it at 350F for 7-9 minutes depending on when the top was set.

IMG_0940

I’m linking up with Holly from HoHo Runs and Tricia at MissSippiPiddlin for the weekly wrap-up and Deborah and Sarah for Meatless Monday.
Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

4 thoughts on “Happy Spring!”

  1. I make a lot of quiche but have never tried a frittata. I am sure it is very similar. I usually throw all my left over veggies in. It makes a wonderful mean and also is perfect reheated.

    Like

  2. Blue bonnets are so pretty. It’s rare to see a blue flower around here. I’ve run one Run Like A Diva race in the past. It is one of the nicest medals I have. I’ve never tried cooking frittatas. I do like the one pan idea and it seems pretty easy. Thanks for linking with us Sonia.

    Like

Leave a Reply

