The best thing about running is…

This week’s Tuesday’s on the Run linkup topic is what I think is the best thing about running.

There are so many things I love about running, but the best thing is that I can do it anywhere with little equipment, no training and very little money.

Of course, the more I run and where I run may necessitate wanting to change the equipment and clothing to make it more comfortable, but in reality, it’s so simple. I’ve seen people running around my neighborhood in cargo shorts and golf shirts. And they are not running by accident. I’ve seen people run marathons in board shorts. No lie. ouch.

Bonus, I can do it for years to come. There are very few athletic activities like that.

I also like that it’s one of the few sports that I can have a real conversation while you do it! Have you ever tried to a real conversation DURING a tennis match? Softball game? A bike ride? It’s not easy!

I wanted to add to my story from yesterday about meeting my running bestie, Lesley. Although my first experience with the running club was less than ideal, as with all things, it got better quickly. As I became a regular, people started talking to me more, encouraging me on runs, and cheering for me after workouts. It was wonderful to commiserate with a group during tough workouts and revel in a great workout together. I’ve made a lot of friends through this group that I never would have if I hadn’t joined. It’s hard to find a group of people that you click with, and I’m really blessed to have those people.

Linking up with ErikaMarcia and Patty for Tuesday’s on the Run.
Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

11 thoughts on “The best thing about running is…”

  1. Sonia you make great points about needing little equipment to run and yes to conversations. I’m glad you’re enjoying your club more and more. Thanks for linking up!

    Like

    1. I know now I spend much more than I need to. When I first started, I bought a good cheap pair of shoes and already had some good clothes for running. It’s much better to feel more comfortable (more colorful and cuter!) with better quality things.

      Like

  2. Glad to hear you’re enjoying your running club! Completely agree about the simplicity of running. Though we tend to spend lots of money on fancy clothing, gps watches, running belts, etc., you don’t really need any of that to run.

    Like

  3. I totally agree with all those things. Running is so easy and pretty much equipment-less. I do like running with friends so we can chit chat while exercising. You can’t really do that in the gym, especially during a class!!

    Like

  4. I’ve seen people running in jeans and I wonder if they really meant to go for a run in them, because that can’t be comfortable! But you are right, its such a simple sport that we can do forever (hopefully) and socialize while we are at it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

