Weekly Wrap Up

Weekly Wrap-Up

IMG_0862

Last week was gorgeous with mornings in the 50s and 60s, so running felt wonderful. I’m slowly creeping back up in mileage, but with the spring race season being quiet for me, there’s no reason to do anything too hard.

I mentioned last week that I got a PR in my 5K last weekend. Yay! In the past, I’ve used the McMillan Running online tool to calculate some goal paces for workouts and races if I want to continue to get faster. So, I did that again after the 5K. Gulp. My new paces are MUCH faster! I know that I won’t be able to reach them on many days, but, it’s nice to have a goal, and once in a while, when the stars align, I just might hit some of those paces. It’s also great to have a new point of reference for improvement.

Today, I got my “prize” for getting second overall in the Women Rock race last fall. I got a Women Rock desktop flag and a seamless sleeve thingy. The package lists all the ways I could use the sleeve. I like the Blind Chicken the best! Isn’t that hysterical?!

IMG_0869 IMG_0870

This weekend, I had fun in the kitchen cooking! I made stuffed peppers with rice last night for dinner. Yum! I wanted to use some chipotle peppers in adobo sauce that I had leftover, so I created this recipe.

I cut the peppers in half lengthwise instead of widthwise so that I would have more pepper bowls. When I made the rice, I used vegetable broth instead of water, added some stewed tomatoes with green chilies, a half cup of black beans, and two heaping tablespoons of chipotles in adobo sauce to the vegetable broth so the rice would cook all together with the vegetables and seasonings. I cooked the peppers in the oven to soften them a little and help release some of the water. Then I stuffed them with rice and added shredded cheddar cheese and put them under the broiler for a couple of minutes.

IMG_0865

Friday, I mentioned the no-bake energy balls I made with peanut butter and mini-chocolate chips. I love coconut so I was curious about using coconut butter for the balls. Store-bought coconut butter is super expensive, so I bought some Bob’s Red Mill shredded coconut and followed this recipe from The Kitchn to make my own. It turned out great! And I made these new energy balls with my coconut butter, oats, flax seed, honey, dried sweetened coconut, and dried blueberries. They turned out really well!

IMG_0863

Linking up with Holly from HoHo Runs and Tricia at MissSippiPiddlin for Weekly Wrap-up and linking up and Deborah and Sarah for Meatless Monday!

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

6 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up”

  1. Congratulations for finishing 2nd at Women Rock. That’s a very cool prize. I would definitely need the illustrations to know what to do. But, why did it take them so long to send it? I’m a big fan of coconut and need to try your recipe for energy balls. Thanks for linking with us Sonia.

    Like

Leave a Reply

