Slay the Sweet Tooth

Valentine’s Day can be challenging for me. I love adore candy, and there are times when my sweet tooth is insatiable. It doesn’t help that the kids had school Valentine’s parties, and their candy now resides in the pantry. I hear them calling me. There’s a large tub filled with these things. Don’t even get me started on the Fun Dip. Ugh.

IMG_0854

And when I’m rungry, it doesn’t help that I work from home and have easy access to the pantry. The kids protest if I throw the candy away (and it’s a nice reward for them once in a while), but truth be told, I probably wouldn’t have the heart to throw away good candy. That’s heresy! 🙂

So, to help me stay strong in the battle of the sweets, I’ve been making some more nutritious things to satisfy my sweet tooth and rungry binges.

Fruits are always great snacks and nutritious, don’t get me wrong, but I’m a sucker for baked goods. I added flax seed to all of these recipes to boost their nutritional value.

Pumpkin muffins. I know the whole pumpkin-spiced everything played out in the fall, but these pumpkin muffins from Lovely Little Kitchen are dee-lish. I used half the sugar, and they still came out fine. Also, I found some Carrington Farms coconut oil that’s always liquid and doesn’t need to be softened, so it saved some time compared to using solid coconut oil. The kids devour them, and I’m lucky if they aren’t gone in a day.

IMG_0819
Hello, lovelies!

No-Bake Energy Balls. I made these no-bake oat energy balls because I needed something quick that would satisfy those times when I’m on-the-go and I get the late-afternoon-I-can’t-make-it-to-dinner-I-will-eat-my-hand cravings. I like that I can substitute a number of different ingredients depending on what I have on hand. Bonus, it’s a great snack for the kids, too. I made these with peanut butter and any nut butter will do,  but I made my own coconut butter this week, so I’m going to experiment with that. Stay tuned!

IMG_0821
Why have just one?

Granola. A friend of mine sent me a bag of this granola one Christmas, and my eyes almost popped out of my head, it was so good. I’ve made a LOT of homemade granola and granola bars that have turned out meh. This recipe from Food52 is awe-some! I have to hide this in the pantry because everybody is getting their grubby little hands on it. It’s a nice snack, but is divine sprinkled on yogurt. YUM-MY.

IMG_0851
My precious!

Brownie Muffins. I made these two ingredient brownie muffins for snacks or breakfast. Take one box of moist variety Devil’s Food Chocolate cake mix and one 15 oz. can of pure pumpkin puree, stir, and bake into moist muffins. You can’t taste the pumpkin at all, but it adds fiber, very little fat, and lots of vitamin A.

IMG_0856
Greetings, my pretties.

Pear Tart. We had a lot of pears on hand that were quickly getting over-ripe, so I used them to make this scrumptious tart from Gail Simmons. Any stone fruit could be used. Trust me, this won’t last long.

IMG_0693

 

Linking up with the Friday Five with MarCourtney and Cynthia.

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

8 thoughts on “Slay the Sweet Tooth”

    1. Good idea! I need to be better about that. I usually make one batch and it’s just enough to go around in a day or two! All of the recipes here are vegetarian, and the brownie muffins and energy balls (made with agave) are vegan. Thanks for the invite to Meatless Monday!

      Like

  1. I have a major sweet tooth. I found a recipe for chocolate mousse… with banana, avocado and cocoa. So good to curb my cravings !

    Like

  2. i LOVE sweets, way too much. I also try to make things healthier, I add flax and swap oils, that kind of stuff. I love no bake balls going to try this one the next time I make them 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

