Race recap

Girls 5K Race Recap

IMG_0822

The Girls Just Want to Have Fun 5K happened Saturday. This race is one of the BCS Marathon races held throughout the year in town. All proceeds from the race benefit the Mercy Project, which works to free children from slavery in Ghana.

The all-girls race is a lot of fun! There’s a costume contest before the race, and there’s always some really creative group and individual costumes. I’ve never dressed in a costume because I don’t want to be uncomfortable while racing. Some of the winning costumes were Breakfast Club and Runaway Brides. Very cute!

IMG_0825

The day was gorgeous and sunny with temps around 60 degrees at the start, and the music and all-male volunteers made for a fun atmosphere. At the finish line, there’s Gatorade in champagne flutes, a chocolate fountain with bananas and strawberries, and cookies for post-race snacks.

My absolute FAVORITE part of the race is having fun with my running sisters and cheering them on!

IMG_0823 IMG_0827 IMG_0831

My running valentines! We always have a great time together chasing down some PRs. Each participant got a long-stemmed rose at the finish.

I didn’t have many expectations for this race, just to run it as best as I could. I wasn’t sure I would be able to best my time from last year when my training was at such a different point. And racing a 5K, which I only do once a year, is a long, hard sprint–so different from the distance racing strategies. I approached the race as a time trial to measure where I am this year and to help me gauge where I need to improve for the rest of the year. It helped take some of the self-imposed pressure I was putting on myself!

The bonus? I managed to get a PR! It was a nice surprise because my lungs were not amused when they screamed for mercy starting at mile 2.

There are many things to love about this race:

LOVE looking at fun costumes, chatting with my running besties, and eating [scarfing down] some cookies.

LOVE seeing little girls running and walking with their mothers, grandmothers, aunts, sisters and friends, and continuing the healthy sisterhood legacy their mothers have introduced in their families. It warms my heart! One day, I hope that my daughter will do this race with me. This weekend, with her broken ankle and a virus, we were happy just to have her stay home and recuperate.

LOVE knowing that each person running is helping to save the lives of enslaved children in Africa and re-introduce them to freedom and their families.

Hope everyone had a great Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

