Five Reasons I’ve Run…Through the Decades

IMG_0682Today has gotten away from me. My youngest has a tiny fracture on her ankle and ended up in a cast this morning.

Anyway, without further ado, the reasons why I’ve run…through the decades.

As a kid, I had to be outside, running, biking, roller skating, it didn’t matter. When we had to run a mile in school, I was always the first girl, behind two boys, Jeff and Lawrence. No matter how hard I ran, I could never beat them, but I loved running fast and short distances.

In my teens, in PE, I realized that I wasn’t coordinated enough for any ball-related sports. I wanted to do a sport, and the track team was the only team in high school that wouldn’t cut you. So, track it was. I sprinted 100m, 200m, 4×100 relay and 4×200 relay, and I enjoyed being part of a team.

In my 20s, I ran to keep in shape, but I was inconsistent. I started to run very early in the morning before work and that quickly became the answer to making sure I ran. Running became part of my routine, and since most of my running was on a treadmill, I didn’t enjoy it, but I got it done. To keep myself motivated, I did some races including the Army 10-miler and my first marathon relay in Baltimore the first year they had the Baltimore Marathon (now the Baltimore Running Festival).

In my 30s, I started having kids and didn’t run when I was pregnant, mostly because I was so doggone tired all the time. I ran with a stroller, then a double jogging stroller, and then, instead of getting a triple stroller after having my third kid in three years, I decided to run alone. I needed that time to myself to do something for me. I would run at 4:30 or 5 am and be finished before the first precious eyelashes started to flutter open.

Then, a few months before I turned 40, I was diagnosed with a lymphoma. I caught it early and overall, I felt fine, but it made me think that I needed to make the most of my good health while I have it. A friend of mine signed up for a half and I thought, I should do just one half in my lifetime…Then, when I got my goal time, I thought, I wonder if I could do better with a little more training…I ran three halfs that year. 🙂

In my 40s, I moved to Texas, and after taking some time off from running, I decided I was sick of running by myself and I wanted to be a lot more consistent. So, I joined a running club and found some great friends and more structured workouts that helped me be a stronger runner. I started doing much better at races (even placing in my age group) and I haven’t looked back.

Have your reasons for running changed through the decades?

I’m linking up with Mar, Courtney, and Cynthia for the Friday Five.

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

2 thoughts on “Five Reasons I’ve Run…Through the Decades”

  1. I also feel like my reasons for running have changed. I only ran when I was a teenager because I wanted to be able to play field hockey! Then in college it was to stay in shape. I started running races in my mid-20s and really enjoyed running. Now I do it for my health and because helps me to think! And for a million other reasons:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

