Friday Five

Friday Five: Favorites

As part of the Friday Five linkup with hosts CourtneyCynthia, and Mar, this week I’m talking about some of my running favorites. Disclaimer: The opinions on the products I list below are mine and only mine. I haven’t been compensated for these reviews.

Apparel

I like cute skirts, and I cannot lie!

IMG_0654

I know running skirts (or skorts) aren’t for everyone, but I love running in them. I used to run track in high school and hated the track shorts that always rode up. Of course, back then, there weren’t any other options. I tried running in a skirt, pretty convinced I wouldn’t like it, and I haven’t looked back. Brands I’ve tried from left to right: lululemon, Skirt Sports, Mizuno, C9. My latest favorites are Skirt Sports and lululemon.

Shoes

I read somewhere last year that to be faster runners, we should have variety in our workouts (tempos, intervals, easy, long, hills, routes, etc.), so why shouldn’t we have variety in our shoes? Hmmm… It made me think. I used to run in only one shoe no matter what the workout or race, and I got tendonitis in those shoes. Maybe it wasn’t the shoe, but I decided to try some different brands. Now, I have three in my rotation. I like the variety in how they feel on different days, and maybe my feet are a little stronger in not getting conditioned to just one shoe? I run in Brooks Launch on easy days, Adidas Energy Boost 2 ESM on long runs or long races, and Adidas Adios Boost for intervals and short races.

IMG_0652

Recovery Drink

It’s hot here in Texas in the summer, but actually….it can be hot here any time of the year. After a really hard workout, I like drinking water with one Nuun tablet. I drink out of these are 20 oz.. cups with straws because it makes me drink more than out of a regular spout water bottle. I’ve tried chocolate milk and Gatorade, and although I like both for different reasons, my favorite is Nuun because it’s gentler on my stomach.

IMG_0650

 

Snacks

IMG_0651

I’m not much of a chocolate eater, but I really like the Brookside snacks for a quick nibble here and there. I also try to make my own snack mixes from the bulk section with sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, nuts, and dried fruit and dried coconut. When I don’t have time, I grab this Archer Farms variety. Yum!

Cross-Training and Recovery

I like to ride my bike–I don’t have a fancy one), but I don’t get to do that as much as I like. I love to do yoga, especially Bikram and Vinyasa styles, after a hard workout. It really helps with tight hips and hammies, which I seem to have a problem with (like many runners!).

IMG_0666

What are some of your favorites? 

 

8 thoughts on “Friday Five: Favorites”

  1. Hi! Visiting from Friday Five link up. I love reading about people’s favorites! I too love Brookside for a little snack. I haven’t had them in awhle so maybe it’s time to look for them again. I do rotate my running sneakers between Mizuno and New Balance. I like doing it. I can’t say that I have tried running in a skirt though I don’t even wear shorts in public, so I don’t know if that will happen any time soon!

    Like

  2. I’m also a huge fan of Lululemon and my go to brand for shoes is Brooks and the only brand I wear. I do have a huge addiction to ice cream, but that is harmless right?

    Like

  3. Trail mix is my favorite 🙂 I have been on a big dried fruit kick lately! I have two running skirts that I got for free during the Runner’s World Half in 2013 and 2014 (I literally stepped into them during mile 8 while I was running) and I do love them! Definitely not a purchase I would’ve made myself but they are so comfortable! Stopping by from the Friday Five link up!

    Like

  4. Great list. I’m a huge Nuun fan. I usually do a bottle after my run and then some chocolate milk. The milk not ask the time, but Nuun yes. Have you tried the Nuun All Day? I like mixing that in at work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

