Friday Five: What I Love About Taper

It’s taper time here.

As part of the Friday Five linkup with linkup hosts Courtney, Cynthia, and Mar, my topic is favorite things about taper. I’m running the Chevron Houston Marathon this Sunday in just 2 days!!

I ran the BCS Marathon on December 13 so it’s been just a little over a month recovering from that effort, and taper has been a little different this time around because I’ve felt like I’ve been tapering for a month.

Less Mileage

After training for months for the marathon, decreasing mileage by 50% in the two weeks before the marathon seems crazy. It’s natural after hitting some 50, 60, ad 70 mile weeks and then decrease. Enter temper crazies!

Eating and Eating and Eating

There’s no excuse like the present to load up on all the rice, pasta, potatoes, and other yummy things. Don’t forget the protein! (One of my favorites: breakfast tacos–yummy!) It’s easy to feel like I will gain weight, which will negatively affect me during the race, but my coach assures me this is ok and will benefit me on race day. I’ve also been increasing the vitamin C intake to boost my immunity.

IMG_0595

Mental Preparation

There’s no doubt that a lot of the last few miles of the marathon were more mental than physical for me. (Keep moving, legs!) I think about the race and possible scenarios that may come up on race day. On a given day, I feel nervous, scared, worried, overwhelmed, excited, and nervous. But, I try not dwell on anything too much. Sometimes too much visualization can bog me down and can lead to worry and anxiety about every little ache and pain that crops up during this taper. I keep reminding myself to RELAX! I’ve also been spending time in prayer and meditating on Bible verses. Some of my favorite verses I thought about during BCS:

“Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Set your mind on things above, not on earthly things.” Colossians 3: 1-2

“Let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” Hebrews 12:1

Rest

There’s nothing like catching up on some sleep and having an excuse to go to bed at a reasonable time, but also to kick up my feet now and then.

Reflect on My Training

This small training curve after BCS hasn’t gone exactly as I thought it would, but I’ve never jumped back into training right after a marathon, so I really couldn’t have too many expectations. One of my friends told me that you get to mile 20 with your training, and the last six miles you run with your heart. I think that’s true.

What are some of your favorite pre-marathon taper rituals? 

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, wife, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

7 thoughts on “Friday Five: What I Love About Taper”

  1. I love spending extra time reading and playing with my little dog. I also try to stay off my feet alot the week of my marathon, but yes, the taper is something I enjoy unlike many runners.

    Like

Leave a Reply

