A Single Step

A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. -Lao Tzu

A couple of months ago I stumbled upon a wall decoration saying “Embrace the Journey” that resonated with me.

IMG_0591

A resounding yes! I stopped. Backed up and stared at it.

That phrase represented my running, but in many other areas of my life, I’ve found that it’s better for me to be aware of process while I’m dealing with something (particularly when it’s challenging or upsetting). It’s not helpful for me to lament and dwell on a particular “bad” event that happens. And I’ve done that a lot in the past.

There’s a reason for that. Embracing the journey is about appreciating all the aspects of the journey, the ebullient highs and the inevitable lows, that abound with each step.

So, I’m taking a step. A step toward another run. Another day. Another journey.

Author: Embrace the Journeys

Hi! I'm Sonia--a runner, wife, mother and writer chronicling this journey. 26.2 x 3 - 13.1 x 12.

Leave a Reply

